The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Uniform/Apparel Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30476-uniform-apparel-question.html)

FishinRef Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:05pm

Uniform/Apparel Question
 
A few days ago, a JV girl was asked to remove a ribbon from her hair in order to participate in the game. Her hair was held back by a rubber band with the ribbon tied on top of the rubber band. I know we all hate being fashion police, I am curious as to everyone's opinion on this matter. When I was asked to give an opinion, I referenced NFHS Rule 3.5.3 and said she can not play with it. What do you all say???????????

Ignats75 Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:14pm

Its the rule, a POE this year, and the State association here wants the rule enforced to the letter of the law. Don't like it, but we have to do it.:rolleyes:

Reffin' Sgt Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:33pm

The following appeared in our recent state monthly publication. Hope it helps clarify your situation and how the NFHS explains the rule.

"Editor’s Note: The following reprint from the December BULLETIN is a clarification regarding the wearing of hair-control devices from the NFHS
and Mary Struckhoff, NFHS Assistant Director, Basketball Rules Editor/National Interpreter.
There have been numerous questions recently
relating to the legality of certain hair-control devices. Players may wear rubber bands, scrunchies, pre wrap and narrow, multi-colored elastic bands
to hold their hair back (3-5-3d). These items are not considered headbands (3-5-3a) and therefore do not fall under the new headband rule. These
items do not have to be the same color as the uniform or white, they can be of any color, they do not have to be a single color and they are not
subject to the logo restrictions in 3-6. Further, a ribbon worn in addition to a haircontrol device is considered to be a head decoration, and is prohibited (3-5-3e). If a ribbon is being worn as a hair-control device, it would be
permitted provided it is not judged to be dangerous or inappropriate by the referee (3-5-1)."

Rusty Gilbert Wed Dec 27, 2006 01:16pm

As described in the OP, the ribbon on top of the rubber band means that the ribbon in this case is a hair decoration. NOT ALLOWED.

If there was no rubber band underneath, then the ribbon would be a hair control device and would be ALLOWED unless you deemed it to be dangerous (such as with loops, too sharp, etc.) or not appropriate (too long, etc.).

cmathews Wed Dec 27, 2006 01:27pm

what we do
 
Our association has taken the stance that if possible "make" that sort of thing out to be holding the hair back. IOW if possible allow it under that section of the rule. If however you decide that it isn't holding the hair back then it comes off......

archer Wed Dec 27, 2006 02:13pm

What if the rubber band is worn over top of the ribbon where it is tied to control the hair?

Mark Padgett Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by archer
What if the rubber band is worn over top of the ribbon where it is tied to control the hair?

And both are held in place by a scrunchie? :o

archer Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:15pm

My point exactly!

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rusty Gilbert

If there was no rubber band underneath, then the ribbon would be a hair control device and would be ALLOWED unless you deemed it to be dangerous (such as with loops, too sharp, etc.) or not appropriate (too long, etc.).

The ribbon has to be a "band". It can't be tied iow.

Adam Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:47pm

Just make them cut their hair so they don't need those silly things.

Grail Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:48pm

According to the IHSA, the ribbon does not have to be a "band" if it is a hair-control device. If it is decoration, it doesn't matter if it's a band or not, it's not legal.

Direct from the IHSA site:
NFHS Hair-Control Devices and Headbands Clarified (11/16/06)
There have been numerous questions recently relating to the legality of certain hair-control devices. Players may wear rubber bands, scrunchies, pre wrap and narrow, multi-colored elastic bands to hold their hair back (3-5-3d). These items are not considered headbands (3-5-3a) and therefore do not fall under the new headband rule. These items do not have to be the same color as the uniform or white, they can be of any color, they do not have to be a single color and they are not subject to the logo restrictions in 3-6.

Further, a ribbon worn in addition to a hair-control device is considered to be a head decoration, and is prohibited (3-5-3e). If a ribbon is being worn as a hair-control device, it would be permitted provided it is not judged to be dangerous or inappropriate by the referee (3-5-1).

bigdogrunnin Wed Dec 27, 2006 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
And both are held in place by a scrunchie? :o

With PRE-WRAP to hold everything in place! And, one piece of tape so the pre-wrap doesn't come undone.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 28, 2006 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Grail
According to the IHSA, the ribbon does not have to be a "band" if it is a hair-control device. If it is decoration, it doesn't matter if it's a band or not, it's not legal.

Direct from the IHSA site:
NFHS Hair-Control Devices and Headbands Clarified (11/16/06)
There have been numerous questions recently relating to the legality of certain hair-control devices. Players may wear rubber bands, scrunchies, pre wrap and narrow, multi-colored elastic bands to hold their hair back (3-5-3d). These items are not considered headbands (3-5-3a) and therefore do not fall under the new headband rule. These items do not have to be the same color as the uniform or white, they can be of any color, they do not have to be a single color and they are not subject to the logo restrictions in 3-6.

Further, a ribbon worn in addition to a hair-control device is considered to be a head decoration, and is prohibited (3-5-3e). If a ribbon is being worn as a hair-control device, it would be permitted provided it is not judged to be dangerous or inappropriate by the referee (3-5-1).

That's not the IHSA, that's the NFHS writing that. That ruling is valid in all states that use NFHS rules.

JRutledge Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That's not the IHSA, that's the NFHS writing that. That ruling is valid in all states that use NFHS rules.

The point that was made by Grail the IHSA gave a direct ruling on the issue to their officials. What other states do is up to them. And BTW, any state can be more restrictive in their application of certain rules. So if a state does not want to allow pre-wrap, they do not have to just because the NF rules on this.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1