![]() |
inadvertent whistle
Before the break I officiated in a new (to me) gym that was a multi-use place with boundary lines that were dimly painted and had other court lines parralel to and painted close to the sideline. Early in 1st quarter I called A1 out of bounds for her foot on the sideline as she drove hard in front of the table. I whistled, signalled change of possession the other way and as I was prepping the throw-in to B, coach A told me that I called the wrong line and her player was not out of bounds. I looked back at where I made the call and she was right. Had I realized my mistake immediately I certainly could have declared an inadvertent whistle and started play with throw-in to A at POI but I felt at the time that because I had made the (mis-)judgment call that it was not fixable. Now I am not so sure. Could/should I have changed this? :(
|
You could have changed it as long as you had definite knowlege that you called the wrong line.
Now, some in here are going debate up to what point you could have corrected it.
I personally would go with C. |
Yes, change the call and let the Team B coach you called the wrong line. You changed the call once you realized your mistake.
Now you've pissed off the Team A coach. Are you going to piss off the Team B coach and get the call right. 'Tis better to piss somebody off and get the play right. It's all about the players. Another learning experience. We've all had them. |
I agree with BadNewsRef. You chould have (and should have) changed the call.
This isn't a "correctable error" per the rules. It is simply a mistake that can be corrected up until the moment that the clock properly starts, which would be "C" in badnewsref's multiple choice. Once the throw-in ends, then it would have to be eaten. I'm not sure why you thought you could not "fix it"...some arbitrary time element maybe? |
Fix this. I'm fixing it if at all possible; probably up until the throwin is completed. Both coaches will understand in a gym like this. If you fix it, neither will be pissed. Coach B might grumble, but he's not really mad; he's just trying to get into your head.
By rule, it's probably stuck once you hand the ball to the thrower (once the ball becomes live), but I think getting this right is important enough to bend this a bit. |
Quote:
6.4.1 SITUATION D: It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Can anything be done? RULING: Not after the ball touches an inbounds player – it is too late to change anything. The possession arrow will remain or be pointed toward B's basket so Team B will have the next throw-in under the alternating procedure. A team should never be given two successive alternating-possession throw-ins if the officials are aware of the mistake. |
in the end no matter what the outcome -- 50% of all fans players and coaches involved in the game will not be happy with you.
where else can you get a wonderful hobby job where at any given time 50% of all people are displeased with the job you do. Except for presidency I think the pickens are slim |
Quote:
|
Quote:
http://www.nndb.com/people/195/000022129/slim1.jpg |
Quote:
|
if hand gestures count then I think i scored an 11% once.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50am. |