The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kill Throw-in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30418-kill-throw.html)

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref

There are so many was to twist this, but none of them can distort the fact that while <font color = red>the refs screwed up</font>, one team did indeed break the rules and this is a technical foul. Just call it and move on with the game.

You agreed with me above that it was the coach's fault, not the officials. Now you're saying that the officials screwed up. Um....?:confused:

You think a "T" should be called in this particular situation. I disagree. Shrug.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:06am

I do agree that ultimate responsibility for this rests with the coach/team. It's their fault for a lack of organization which resulted in them having too many out there, but I also believe that the officials screwed up by putting the ball in play without accurately counting or maybe without counting at all. :eek:

We both know that the officials manual mentions the officials seeing five players from each team on the court.

Ray_from_Mi Sun Dec 24, 2006 07:50pm

As the earlier post said, the center official kicked this one by allowing play to continue while there is 6 on the floor. The motto, 'I will be sure....always' should be in the pre-game. When that comes down, there needs to be 10 on the floor. How you handled it was very well indeed. If the score was not close, the coach would have probably thanked you for doing preventative. Overall, you did the best thing while trying to run 'interference' for your brother official.

Rusty Gilbert Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:42pm

I liked how you handled it. I don't think that stopping the play BEFORE the ball was touched in bounds in order to accomplish preventing officiating in this particular situation is beyond the scope of our ability. Obviously it is NOT a correctable error, but it is an avoidable mistake. And I think when we can avoid mistakes (such as too many players on the court) then we should. As officials we are not "accountable" for this mistake (the team ultimately bears responsibility per Rule 10), but I believe this was a good game management move.

Adam Mon Dec 25, 2006 02:31pm

"Technically," the rule was broken as soon as the ball became live. However, I have no problem with stopping play before the throwin ends to prevent a T. Once the throwin ends (violation on A or ball touched anywhere on court after the release), you gotta go with the T, though.
BTW, using the end of the throwin here is completely arbitrary and doesn't really fit the rule. I'm not completely happy with it.

iref4him Wed Dec 27, 2006 02:50pm

This snafu is really a mechanic issue. I don't like the mechanic if the C or T is opposite the table, they bring the subs in. I have seen this mechanic work both ways and the majority of the time it is good. But let's try to improve on the siutation. If you look in the mechanics book, the first thing that the official who is putting the ball into play is to look at the scorer's table to see if any subs are coming in.

The NBA has (use to have) the mechanic that the official with the ball to bring the subs in, (since he/she is to look at the scorer's table before starting play). If a sub wants in, the off official's are just to pop their whistle and let the offical with the ball know that there is a sub. I have done this in NHFS and NCAA games when I was the R. It was awkward at first for the other official. I would also tell the coaches and captains at the beginning at the pre-game meeting that only the official with the ball will bring in the subs. It has been effective and have lessoned the problem. In fact, almost all the officials I work with start liking this mechanic.

Also, I pre-game this all the time, when subs come in or after a timeout or suspended play the off officials (not putting the ball into play) are to count the players and signal each other. Then the ball is put into play.

The biggest errors seem to happen during the dead ball periods. I talk about dead ball officiating - noticing the clock, number of players, who is lining up incorrectly, palyers getting inot each other faces, working with coaches, etc., etc.

As to the OP, I have been told to be right, but not dead right. Dead right is the 'T'. You would have every right within the rules to do as such. But most of our games are advantage/disadvantage and preventive officiating. What you did appeared to be preventive officiating. But you would have not been wrong calling a 'T'.

I had a partner one time, in a similar situation, blow his whistle and look onto the floor like he was looking for a contact or saw some water. He actually called for a towel and cleaned up a spot. Then, proceeded to get the team to remove one of the players. In his mind no harm.

We all play Monday morning official. Sometimes you do the best at the time fo the situation and then learn.

IMO, you were right but not dead right.

mcdanrd Wed Dec 27, 2006 03:07pm

Sorry guys (and gals) It sounds to me like the officials didn't provide the players time to get off of the court before starting the throw in. I'm not callinga T for an official's mistake.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1