The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   foul on made basket question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30343-foul-made-basket-question.html)

roadking Wed Dec 20, 2006 01:45pm

foul on made basket question
 
player A drives to basket for lay up, scores basket then crashes into player B/1 .
no basket player control foul.

player A/1 drives to basket for lay up, as he starts to release ball player A/2 fouls B/2.
count basket team control foul???

cmathews Wed Dec 20, 2006 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking
player A drives to basket for lay up, scores basket then crashes into player B/1 .
no basket player control foul.

yep

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking
player A/1 drives to basket for lay up, as he starts to release ball player A/2 fouls B/2.
count basket team control foul???

if it is team control it is before the shot. If he is releasing it, it is no longer team control, in that case count the hoop, and proceed with the foul and a throw in for B or free throws if in the bonus. If he hasn't released it yet, blow it dead, don't count it, and proceed with the foul, and a throw in for B.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:02pm

Just to clarify - the ball has to be released in the second situtation for the ball not to become dead immediately.

4-11-3 Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking
player A drives to basket for lay up, scores basket then crashes into player B/1 .
no basket player control foul.

Not enough information to answer. What rules are you using? Was A still airborne at the time of the crash or has A returned to the floor? Had the ball passed through the basket at the time of the crash? (and, it's an assumption that B was entitled to the spot and the crash rises to the level of a foul).

Assuming FED or NCAAW rules:

If A was still airborne, then it's a PC foul and no basket.

If A had returned to the floor then the basket will count. If the crash was before the ball went through, then it's a common foul. If the crash was after the ball went through, then the crash is ignored unless it was intentional or flagrant, in which case the foul is an IT or an FT (unlikely in both cases).

Assuming NCAAM rules:

The basket will count regardless of A's position. The same rule as as above applyregarding the timing of the basket and the foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1