The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dead ball foul - diff. between intentional and technical (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30341-dead-ball-foul-diff-between-intentional-technical.html)

djskinn Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:56pm

Dead ball foul - diff. between intentional and technical
 
Looking for some clarification on proper procedure for a dead ball intentional foul. My understanding was that an intentional foul was two shots with the lane cleared and the ball put back at the point where the foul occurred.

After reviewing the definitions, my understanding is that a dead ball intentional is a technical. If that is the case, the penalty is different with regards to the placement of the ball after the two penalty shots (division-line throw in).

So what signal do we report to the table (intentional or technical) on a dead ball situation? If a dead ball intentional cannot be a personal foul (10.3.8) then are all dead ball fouls a technical?

4.19.3 An intentional foul is a personal or technical foul . . .

4.19.1 A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live…

4.19.5 A technical foul is:
a. A foul by a nonplayer
b. A noncontact foul by a player
c. An intentional or flagrant contact while the ball is dead, expect a foul by
an airborne shooter.
d. A direct technical . . .
e. An indirect technical . . .

10.3.8 Intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul. Pen (Sec 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw in.

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:17pm

If you call an intentional technical foul (i.e., intentional dead-ball contact), then it is signalled and administered as a technical foul. Give the T signal, report it as a technical (I wouldn't say the word intentional at the table, you'd just confuse the scorer), and give any player(s) on the offended team 2 shots. The ball will then be inbounded at the division line.

djskinn Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
If you call an intentional technical foul (i.e., intentional dead-ball contact), then it is signalled and administered as a technical foul. Give the T signal, report it as a technical (I wouldn't say the word intentional at the table, you'd just confuse the scorer), and give any player(s) on the offended team 2 shots. The ball will then be inbounded at the division line.

Makes sense to me now. So the only situation an intentional foul could occur where you would use the mechanic given in the rules book would be during a live ball. Otherwise, it is a technical.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by djskinn
Looking for some clarification on proper procedure for a dead ball intentional foul. My understanding was that an intentional foul was two shots with the lane cleared and the ball put back at the point where the foul occurred.

That's true for an intentional *personal* foul. The rest of your post discusses intentional *technical* fouls. There's no such thing as an intentional (no modifier) foul.

budjones05 Wed Dec 20, 2006 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
If you call an intentional technical foul (i.e., intentional dead-ball contact), then it is signalled and administered as a technical foul. Give the T signal, report it as a technical (I wouldn't say the word intentional at the table, you'd just confuse the scorer), and give any player(s) on the offended team 2 shots. The ball will then be inbounded at the division line.

If it's intentional, shouldn't the person who got foul shot the free throws?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 20, 2006 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by budjones05
If it's intentional, shouldn't the person who got foul shot the free throws?

No, it's an intentional <b>technical</b> foul. Any player(s) can shoot either or both FT's. Rule 8-3.

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
No, it's an intentional <b>technical</b> foul. Any player(s) can shoot either or both FT's. Rule 8-3.

What he said.

Remember - all fouls are either personal or technical. Flagrant, intentional, player-control, team-control, common, direct and indirect are all modifiers (some of which apply only to personal or only to technical fouls), which require the base personal or technical foul to begin with.

dahoopref Tue Dec 26, 2006 02:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
What he said.

Remember - all fouls are either personal or technical. Flagrant, intentional, player-control, team-control, common, direct and indirect are all modifiers (some of which apply only to personal or only to technical fouls), which require the base personal or technical foul to begin with.

Is it the same in college? Rule 10, Sec 16, Art 1 seems somewhat vauge to me stating 2 FTs are awarded to "a player" of the offended team...... Am I to read that as "any player" can shoot the FTs?

Thanks.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 26, 2006 05:44am

Yes ANY player from the opposing team may shoot the FTs for a T in both NFHS and NCAA.

The NCAA handles technical fouls a bit differently from the NFHS. Players may be charged with indirect technical fouls in a college game. Only the Head Coach may be assessed that kind of foul in an NFHS game.

The penalty for an NCAA T is also different. The opponent is still awarded 2FTs, but only a few Ts (flagrant and intentional) also carry the awarding of the ball as well. Unsporting Ts are just 2FTs and the game resumes at the POI. Also one player from the opposing team must attempt BOTH FTs under NCAA rules. (NFHS allows two different players to try if the team so desires.)

Also indirect Ts on a player do not count towards his five for DQ.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 26, 2006 06:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref
Is it the same in college? Rule 10, Sec 16, Art 1 seems somewhat vauge to me stating 2 FTs are awarded to "a player" of the offended team...... Am I to read that as "any player" can shoot the FTs?

Thanks.

Yes, and the "player" can be any tem member who is eligible to enter the game. In NCAA the same player must shoot both throws (unless sometning unusual like a DQ or an injury happens to that player). in FED, a different player can shoot the second throw.

mbyron Tue Dec 26, 2006 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Yes, and the "player" can be any tem member who is eligible to enter the game. In NCAA the same player must shoot both throws (unless sometning unusual like a DQ or an injury happens to that player). in FED, a different player can shoot the second throw.

Bob, I don't remember hearing this about FED - can you direct me to the relevant rule or casebook play? TIA.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 26, 2006 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
Bob, I don't remember hearing this about FED - can you direct me to the relevant rule or casebook play? TIA.

NFHS rule 8-3.

mbyron Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NFHS rule 8-3.

OK, but that's not decisive, and what about case 8.2 COMMENT?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 27, 2006 06:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
OK, but that's not decisive, and what about case 8.2 COMMENT?

It's not only decisive, it's clear. Case book play 8.2 backs it up also.

mbyron Wed Dec 27, 2006 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It's not only decisive, it's clear. Case book play 8.2 backs it up also.

Says you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RULEBOOK
8-3: The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s).

This rule as written does not state explicitly that one player may shoot the first FT for a T and that another player may shoot the other. The last sentence implies it, but implication is not decisive (nor, for that matter, clear).

Quote:

Originally Posted by CASEBOOK
8.2 COMMENT: When A1 is designated to attempt a free throw(s), no other player shall be permitted to make the attempt unless A1 is injured or disqualified prior to the attempt.

This casebook comment implies that the two FT's for a T must be attempted by a single player, except in case of injury or disqualification.

This is the basis on which I originally questioned Bob's assertion that under NFHS rules it's permissible to have two different players shoot FT's for a T. That situation would be exceptional, not discretionary. And if that was what Bob originally meant, I don't see the difference from NCAA.

Mark Dexter Wed Dec 27, 2006 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
This rule as written does not state explicitly that one player may shoot the first FT for a T and that another player may shoot the other. The last sentence implies it, but implication is not decisive (nor, for that matter, clear).

What could be more clear than free thrower(s)? I've been slacking as Mr. Grammar & Spelling guy, but last I checked, the 's' at the end makes "free throwers" plural. :confused:

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
Says you.



This rule as written does not state explicitly that one player may shoot the first FT for a T and that another player may shoot the other. The last sentence implies it, but implication is not decisive (nor, for that matter, clear).



This casebook comment implies that the two FT's for a T must be attempted by a single player, except in case of injury or disqualification.

This is the basis on which I originally questioned Bob's assertion that under NFHS rules it's permissible to have two different players shoot FT's for a T. That situation would be exceptional, not discretionary. And if that was what Bob originally meant, I don't see the difference from NCAA.

Don't they have rules interpreters in your state?

That's a pretty basic rule to mis-interpret. It hasn't changed in a long time either. But....if you don't want to believe everyone here that tells you that you're wrong, hey, that's fine too. Call it any way that you want. And good luck in your future officiating endeavors.

mbyron Thu Dec 28, 2006 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Don't they have rules interpreters in your state?

That's a pretty basic rule to mis-interpret. It hasn't changed in a long time either. But....if you don't want to believe everyone here that tells you that you're wrong, hey, that's fine too. Call it any way that you want. And good luck in your future officiating endeavors.

Sure, we have interpreters here, but they're not snide and seldom resort to sarcasm when they cannot adequately defend their point of view.

I'm not misinterpreting anything, because I have offered no interpretation. I asked a question about a rule.

The rule doesn't explicitly say that different shooters may attempt the FT's for a T, but, according to you, standard practice and interps. allow it. Why not just say so? I'm OK with that.

mbyron Thu Dec 28, 2006 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
What could be more clear than free thrower(s)? I've been slacking as Mr. Grammar & Spelling guy, but last I checked, the 's' at the end makes "free throwers" plural. :confused:

You've been slacking. There is no 's' at the end: it's in parentheses, which makes a difference. And, it could refer to a substitute brought in due to disqualification or injury, the exceptional case explicitly stated in the rule.

Back In The Saddle Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
You've been slacking. There is no 's' at the end: it's in parentheses, which makes a difference. And, it could refer to a substitute brought in due to disqualification or injury, the exceptional case explicitly stated in the rule.

Yes, the 's' in parenthesis does make a difference. It means that the throws do not have to be taken by different people, but certainly can be. BTW It would really be exceptional to have a disqualification or injury replacement of the shooter in the middle of a pair of throws for a T. If there's a DQ or injury, you get the replacement before you shoot.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
Sure, we have interpreters here, but they're not snide and seldom resort to sarcasm when they cannot adequately defend their point of view.

I'm not misinterpreting anything, because I have offered no interpretation. I asked a question about a rule.

The rule doesn't explicitly say that different shooters may attempt the FT's for a T, but, according to you, standard practice and interps. allow it. Why not just say so? I'm OK with that.

Yup, you asked a question about a rule. And you also chose not to accept the answer that you were given. That answer was the pertinent NFHS rule.

The rule sureasheck does say that different shooters may attempt technical foul free throws. You chose to interpret the rule completely different than the way that it's been explicitly written, and also as well as how it's also been administered since the rule was put in. You chose not to believe anyone that pointed it out to you. If you don't want to believe responses to your posts, well, personally I really could care less. That's your perogative. But it's only common sense that you would also check with your local rules interpreter to see who was correct. Had you done so, you would have found out that you were wrong. Deal with it.

mbyron Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, you asked a question about a rule. And you also chose not to accept the answer that you were given. That answer was the pertinent NFHS rule.

The rule sureasheck does say that different shooters may attempt technical foul free throws. You chose to interpret the rule completely different than the way that it's been explicitly written, and also as well as how it's also been administered since the rule was put in. You chose not to believe anyone that pointed it out to you. If you don't want to believe responses to your posts, well, personally I really could care less. That's your perogative. But it's only common sense that you would also check with your local rules interpreter to see who was correct. Had you done so, you would have found out that you were wrong. Deal with it.

Read the thread again. You cited a rule without explanation. I asked for an explanation, which you did not offer. When I explained the basis for my request - namely that the rule does not say what you seem to think, and the casebook play seems to undercut your interpretation - you attacked me.

I reproduced the rule in the thread above: show me where it explicitly says that different shooters may attempt the FT's on a T. It doesn't: it might imply it, which leaves open that interpretation.

Now you're trying to bolster your view with bluster and insult. You might be right, but you're not proving it. I can't be wrong, because I'm asking a question (and questions are neither true nor false). And it's not me against the world until I disagree with the world.

A little more light and less heat would clear this issue up, I'm sure. Perhaps you're not the person to supply what's required.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 28, 2006 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
A little more light and less heat would clear this issue up, I'm sure. Perhaps you're not the person to supply what's required.

You were given the "light" two days ago. All it ever took from the git-go was for you to open a rule book and read the rule. You chose not to believe the rule as written. As I said before, that's fine with me. I supplied a rules citation and that isn't good enough for you. I could care less if you don't want to believe me, or every other responder who has also told you that your view was wrong. And if you don't believe the responses that you get on this forum, then it's kinda obvious that your next step would be to ask your local rules interpreter. Why don't you give that at try? Maybe you can let us all know what your interpreter's response to you was when you get one.

Until then, it's a waste of time for me to repeat the same things endlessly. Interpret it and apply it any way that you feel like. Don't make no nevermind to me. Shrug.

mbyron Thu Dec 28, 2006 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You were given the "light" two days ago. All it ever took from the git-go was for you to open a rule book and read the rule.

How absurd. Back in post #15 of this thread, I posted both the text of the rule you cited and a casebook situation that seems to contradict your interpretation. All I asked for was an explanation of the apparent contradiction. I urge you to read it yourself.

I'm done with this thread as well. I'm disappointed with your responses, as you're ordinarily much more on point and much less ad hominem. How could I have failed to accept your explanation when you've offered none?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
How absurd. Back in post #15 of this thread, I posted both the text of the rule you cited and a casebook situation that seems to contradict your interpretation. All I asked for was an explanation of the apparent contradiction. I urge you to read it yourself.

I'm done with this thread as well. I'm disappointed with your responses, as you're ordinarily much more on point and much less ad hominem. How could I have failed to accept your explanation when you've offered none?

Please let us know the response of your rules interpreter. Hopefully, you'll believe him.

mbyron Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Please let us know the response of your rules interpreter. Hopefully, you'll believe him.

I believe you, but all you've said of substance is that there's no explanation for the apparent contradiction between your interpretation of the rule and the casebook situation. I can accept that, but the accompanying vituperation is annoying.

Back In The Saddle Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
How absurd. Back in post #15 of this thread, I posted both the text of the rule you cited and a casebook situation that seems to contradict your interpretation. All I asked for was an explanation of the apparent contradiction. I urge you to read it yourself.

I'm done with this thread as well. I'm disappointed with your responses, as you're ordinarily much more on point and much less ad hominem. How could I have failed to accept your explanation when you've offered none?

I don't have my case book with me at the moment to double-check what I'm about to say, however it appears that you're comparing apples and oranges.

Rule 8-3 talks about shooting technical foul free throws.

SECTION 3 ATTEMPTING TECHNICAL-FOUL FREE THROWS
The free throws awarded because of a technical foul may be attempted by any player of the offended team, including an eligible substitute or designated starter. The coach or captain shall designate the free thrower(s).

Sure, the language could be more explicit. But the psuedo-word "thrower(s)" is shorthand for "thrower or throwers." There is no absolute need for the rule to say, "And yes, this means that different players could shoot each of the free throws." As written the rule allows that it may happen.

As for the apparent contradicting case: I do not wish to seem condescending, but you are aware that the numbering of rules and cases corresponds, are you not? The case you cite is 8.2, which corresponds to rule 8-2 which talks about shooting personal foul free throws.

SECTION 2 ATTEMPTING PERSONAL-FOUL FREE THROWS
The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul shall be attempted by the offended player. If such player must withdraw because of an injury or disqualification, his/her substitute shall attempt the throw(s) unless no substitute is available, in which case any teammate may attempt the throw(s) as selected by the team captain or head coach."

The comment, as it applies to the rule it supports, is correct. The player who was fouled must take the throws, unless he or she has been injured or disqualified (which would normally happen before the throws, but could also happen between the throws).

Adam Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:43pm

The fact that "player" has an "(s)" appended to the end is pretty clear that more than one player is allowed to take the T shots. Furthermore, with nothing explicitly forbidding it; it has to be allowed.

Adam Thu Dec 28, 2006 02:48pm

Okay, now I need to quote my friend Case Book. I'm only going to quote one sentence, though, as it pretty much closes this case. For those wondering, it's the last sentence in 8.2.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Case Book
If this situation involved technical foul free throws, A7 would be allowed to enter and attempt the second free throw.


Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 28, 2006 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
I believe you, but all you've said of substance is that there's no explanation for the apparent contradiction between your interpretation of the rule and the casebook situation. I can accept that, but the accompanying vituperation is annoying.

No vituperation was intended. Imo, it's an explicit rule. In your opinion it isn't. So be it. We disagree. End of story....fade to black.

Back In The Saddle Thu Dec 28, 2006 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Okay, now I need to quote my friend Case Book. I'm only going to quote one sentence, though, as it pretty much closes this case. For those wondering, it's the last sentence in 8.2.

Your friend is wise beyond his years. He must be a Rockies fan :D

Mark Dexter Fri Dec 29, 2006 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
You've been slacking. There is no 's' at the end: it's in parentheses, which makes a difference. And, it could refer to a substitute brought in due to disqualification or injury, the exceptional case explicitly stated in the rule.

Wha???

The "s" in parentheses IS at the end; it's a common writing technique. The (s) is used in this case to mean "free thrower or free throwers."

mbyron Sat Dec 30, 2006 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Wha???

The "s" in parentheses IS at the end; it's a common writing technique. The (s) is used in this case to mean "free thrower or free throwers."

Right, and "free thrower or free throwers" is a logical disjunction, not the plural of 'free thrower' in Standard American English.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1