The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in after made basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30335-throw-after-made-basket.html)

FrankHtown Wed Dec 20, 2006 08:48am

Throw-in after made basket
 
Team A has a throw-in after a made basket. Team A releases the ball. Team B bats the ball out of bounds over the end line. Does Team A retain the priviledge of running the end line? The throw-in would be from the end line.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 20, 2006 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Team A has a throw-in after a made basket. Team A releases the ball. Team B bats the ball out of bounds over the end line. Does Team A retain the priviledge of running the end line? The throw-in would be from the end line.

Nope. Designated spot throw-in. Team B's bat ended the throw-in, so the privilege of running the endline is gone.

roadking Wed Dec 20, 2006 01:51pm

would the spot throw in apply after a boundry plane violation?

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 20, 2006 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking
would the spot throw in apply after a boundry plane violation?

No.

7-5-7 After a goal or awarded goal as in 7-4-3, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from the end of the court where the goal was made and from any point outside the end line. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line.

David M Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:14pm

I am assuming that Roadking meant a boundary plane warning. My question is: Is a warning considered a violation?

Adam Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by David M
I am assuming that Roadking meant a boundary plane warning. My question is: Is a warning considered a violation?

Yes, it's listed in the book under violations.

Rusty Gilbert Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roadking
would the spot throw in apply after a boundry plane violation?


Depends.

NFHS: If it is the boundary plane violation is by an opponent of the thrower and results in a "delay of game warning" to that team, then the throwing team retains its right to move along the end line (if it such a right before the "delay of game warning").

However, if the boundary plane violation is by an opponent of the thrower and results in a "technical foul" (in other words, the team had previously received a "delay of game warning"), then the offended team will shoot 2 free throws and, in high school, have a spot throw in at the division line opposite the scorer's table.

The NCAA rule is different. There is no "warning" for a defender being beyond the inside vertical plane of the boundary line. It is a violation. The rule book speaks to allowing the throwing team to retain it's moving rights if a "kick ball" violation occurs on the throw in near the endline, but it doesn't mention the team retaining the rights for any other violation. I'd be inclined to "let them run the endline" if they could do so before the boundary line violation occured.

FrankHtown Wed Dec 20, 2006 03:47pm

That's why i asked the original question. Didn't team B commit a violation, and the ensuing throw-in would still be from the endline? Why can't team A run?

"A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation ", and the parenthetical concerning before the throw-in ends, may refer only to a foul committed before the throw-in ends.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 20, 2006 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
That's why i asked the original question. Didn't team B commit a violation, and the ensuing throw-in would still be from the endline? Why can't team A run?

"A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation ", and the parenthetical concerning before the throw-in ends, may refer only to a foul committed before the throw-in ends.

In the situation you're describing, B is committing an out of bounds violation, yes, but the throw-in, itself, is over as soon as B touches the ball. So the resulting out of bounds violation on B has nothing to do with the throw-in, and therefore, is not covered under 7-5-6 (if the scoring team commits a violation before the throw-in ends...).

This out of bounds is no different (regarding where the ensuing throw-in spot for A is) than the throw-in being caught inbounds by A2, standing just inbounds near the endline, who is immediately fouled by B2. A does not get to run the endline in this situation either, even though the throw-in spot will be on the endline (assuming the bonus is not in effect).

Does that help?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1