The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Yet another backcourt violation question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30290-yet-another-backcourt-violation-question.html)

ATXCoach Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:48pm

Yet another backcourt violation question
 
I always thought I knew the rule, but now I'm second guessing myself.

Player A1 in the front court with the ball passes to A2. A2 is running up from behind the play and attempting to establish front court status before catching the ball.

Is it a backcourt violation if . . .

a) A2 catches the ball while in the air with both feet last touching the court in the backcourt?

b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

FWIW, I always thought violation on both.

Thanks in advance!

blindzebra Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:52pm

You are where you are until you get where you are going.

One in FC, none in BC means front court.

Violation in #1.

Legal in #2.

lukealex Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
a) A2 catches the ball while in the air with both feet last touching the court in the backcourt?

Violation, player still has BC status

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

No violation. Player's foot in FC gives FC status since other foot is in air.

You are where you were until you get where you're going.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

NOt a violation, yet. But if the second foot now comes down in the BC, it's a violation.

TimTaylor Mon Dec 18, 2006 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
I always thought I knew the rule, but now I'm second guessing myself.

Player A1 in the front court with the ball passes to A2. A2 is running up from behind the play and attempting to establish front court status before catching the ball.

Is it a backcourt violation if . . .

a) A2 catches the ball while in the air with both feet last touching the court in the backcourt?

b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

FWIW, I always thought violation on both.

Thanks in advance!


a) yes - airborne players location is where they jumped from
b) no - only one foot needed to establish FC status (assuming other foot is in air)

No books currently handy - I'm sure someone will provide the specifics

Mark Dexter Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
Player A1 in the front court with the ball passes to A2. A2 is running up from behind the play and attempting to establish front court status before catching the ball.

b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

Are you saying that he jumped from the backcourt, caught it, then the first foot down was in the frontcourt? If so, the violation occurs when A2 catches the ball.

lukealex Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Are you saying that he jumped from the backcourt, caught it, then the first foot down was in the frontcourt? If so, the violation occurs when A2 catches the ball.

I'm assuming the foot was already in the FC. If not, the two situations are the same.

illinoisbluezeb Mon Dec 18, 2006 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATXCoach
I always thought I knew the rule, but now I'm second guessing myself.

Player A1 in the front court with the ball passes to A2. A2 is running up from behind the play and attempting to establish front court status before catching the ball.

Is it a backcourt violation if . . .

a) A2 catches the ball while in the air with both feet last touching the court in the backcourt?

b) A2 catches the ball with one foot down in the front court and the other foot in the air, but last down in the backcourt?

FWIW, I always thought violation on both.

Thanks in advance!

a) violation

b) legal provided that the second foot never touches BC when it lands

Our association uses the phrase
You are where you are until you get where you are going.

Players jumps from BC.........1 or 2 feet touch down in FC only

Rule-4 Section-35 Articles-1, 2, 3


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1