The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Alternating Possession ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30154-alternating-possession.html)

JasonTX Wed Dec 13, 2006 03:55pm

Alternating Possession ?
 
The possesion arrow is pointing to Team A. A22 has stopped his dribble. B10 grabs the ball and a held ball is called. B10 then throws A22 to the ground and a technical foul is then called. The question is, after Team A shoots the 2 free throws and gets the ball for the throw-in, will the arrow be switched over to Team B?

tjones1 Wed Dec 13, 2006 04:02pm

AP does not change. The throw-in for the held ball was never completed.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 13, 2006 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonTX
The possesion arrow is pointing to Team A. A22 has stopped his dribble. B10 grabs the ball and a held ball is called. B10 then throws A22 to the ground and a technical foul is then called. The question is, after Team A shoots the 2 free throws and gets the ball for the throw-in, will the arrow be switched over to Team B?

The throw in is for the T, not for the held ball. So, the arrow doesn't switch.

just another ref Wed Dec 13, 2006 04:04pm

No, the technical foul penalty is enforced. no ap throw-in, no arrow reversal

just another ref Wed Dec 13, 2006 04:06pm

Answer 9 minutes later and come in third.

JasonTX Wed Dec 13, 2006 04:26pm

Good. I would have gotten it right if that is how the play would have taken place. In the JV game I worked last night, it was a foul instead of a held ball. The kid grabbed his arm instead of the ball. I blew whistle for the foul and then out frustration he slung the kid to the floor. No ejection, but the coach did pull him out and he didn't play for the rest of the night.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Dec 13, 2006 05:49pm

JasonTX -

Rule reference is:
6-4-4 The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 14, 2006 05:15am

Absolutely correct for NFHS, but I'm posting to add that even in NCAAM the AP arrow would not be used in this case. The technical foul would be an intentional technical foul for dead ball contact and that penalty carries awarding of possession at the division line, so the officials would NOT resume at the POI which would have been the held ball.

mbyron Thu Dec 14, 2006 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JasonTX
Good. I would have gotten it right if that is how the play would have taken place. In the JV game I worked last night, it was a foul instead of a held ball. The kid grabbed his arm instead of the ball. I blew whistle for the foul and then out frustration he slung the kid to the floor. No ejection, but the coach did pull him out and he didn't play for the rest of the night.

Good for the coach! No place for that nonsense.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1