The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Call youwould make (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30089-call-youwould-make.html)

sm_bbcoach Mon Dec 11, 2006 09:48am

Call youwould make
 
I am without books today, and so I am asking for assistance please:

A-3 is shooting a 2 shot FT. B's coach calls ALL his players over to his sideline to talk. The officials allow the ball to be given to A-3 to shoot. He shoots his first shot and missed. Then B arrives at the free throw lane.

Is this a violation? I am pretty sure the officials should not have giventhe ball to A-3 until B had at least 2 players on the bottom . What is the correct violation and penalty for this?

Thanks

SmokeEater Mon Dec 11, 2006 09:53am

You are correct the bottom 2 spots should be filled before the shots are taken. If the coach of B refuses to have his players line up then you could I guess issue a warning for delay of game. Maybe that would work.

FrankHtown Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:01am

If this was not after a time out, the penalty is a technical foul for delay 10.1.5 C (b)

sm_bbcoach Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
If this was not after a time out, the penalty is a technical foul for delay 10.1.5 C (b)

No, this was in the flow of the game. A-3 shoots, fouled. Official calls the foul, THEN B gets called over to the sideline.

I thought it was just a delay of game (warning) , not the T. Do you happen to have the rule ref??

Thanks

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sm_bbcoach
No, this was in the flow of the game. A-3 shoots, fouled. Official calls the foul, THEN B gets called over to the sideline.

I thought it was just a delay of game (warning) , not the T. Do you happen to have the rule ref??

Thanks

You direct Team B to fill the bottom 2 slots. You do this <b>before</b> the first shot. If they don't comply immediately, it's a team techical foul. Case book play 10.1.5SitC(b) is the rules reference.

sm_bbcoach Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You direct Team B to fill the bottom 2 slots. You do this <b>before</b> the first shot. If they don't comply immediately, it's a team techical foul. Case book play 10.1.5SitC(b) is the rules reference.

Thanks a lot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1