![]() |
Team Possession or not?
Situation: Both teams are in the bonus, Team A has a spot throw in. A-1 pushes off B-1 to get open for the inbounds pass. The foul is called. Question, does B-1 get to shoot free thows or is this a "team possession" situation and team B just gets ball out of bounds?
Does the rule book not say there is "no team possession on a throw in"? If so, would you not shoot the foul shots? |
Shooting...
In high school no team control during a throw until a player is in control of the ball.
|
Well there technically is team possession, but there is not team control during a FT. The term team possession means nothing under the rules of basketball as it relates to fouls.
In this scenario you gave to us, you would shoot FTs because this is not a "team control foul" under NF rules. At the college level, this would be a team control foul. This could be where confusion arises. Peace |
Coach if you have a book. See 4-8-1 and 4-12-6.
4-8-1: A bonus free throw is the second free throw awarded for a common foul (except a play-control or team-control foul) as follows: (...) 4-12-6: Neither team control nor player control exists during a dead ball, throw-in, a jump ball or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33pm. |