The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3-point foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/30051-3-point-foul.html)

DKaiser Sat Dec 09, 2006 02:16pm

3-point foul
 
Novice official here making sure the call was right. Freshmen boys game with Team A down 2 with 30 seconds left. A1 shoots 3 pointer and touches down while ball is still in flight. B1 boxes out to the extent of knocking A1 to the floor. After all of this, ball hits rim and comes out. I blow whistle just before ball hits rim. Shooting 3. Coach thinks its a floor foul and should be 1 and 1. Was this the right call?

BTW, A1 misses 2 of 3 throws and game ends with Team A down 1.

rainmaker Sat Dec 09, 2006 02:18pm

Once shooter touches down, foul isn't on the shot anymore. You kicked it. But don't worry, you'll never do it again! You own it now.

Oh, and by the way, welcome to the board. We like new folks who are interested in getting it right.

DKaiser Sat Dec 09, 2006 02:21pm

That's the rule that I wanted to know. The touching of the floor was so close to the foul that I had very little argument anyway. I just really wanted to know when the opportunity for a shooting foul stops on a long distance shot like that. Thanks.

rainmaker Sat Dec 09, 2006 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DKaiser
That's the rule that I wanted to know. The touching of the floor was so close to the foul that I had very little argument anyway. I just really wanted to know when the opportunity for a shooting foul stops on a long distance shot like that. Thanks.

Think "on the shot" = "airborne shooter". Once the shooter touches down, she's not airborne anymore, is she? That's an easy way to remember that one item.

Another thing I try to do is to hold the whistle just a second and not call it till the ball goes in or is at least on the way through. it makes it easier to sell. If you wait to blow it, the whistle is easier to associate with "after the shot".

Back In The Saddle Sat Dec 09, 2006 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Think "on the shot" = "airborne shooter". Once the shooter touches down, she's not airborne anymore, is she? That's an easy way to remember that one item.

Another thing I try to do is to hold the whistle just a second and not call it till the ball goes in or is at least on the way through. it makes it easier to sell. If you wait to blow it, the whistle is easier to associate with "after the shot".

I like this. I'm going to add it to my bag o' tools. :)

Nevadaref Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DKaiser
That's the rule that I wanted to know. The touching of the floor was so close to the foul that I had very little argument anyway. I just really wanted to know when the opportunity for a shooting foul stops on a long distance shot like that. Thanks.

RULE 4, SECTION 41 SHOOTING, TRY, TAP
ART. 1 . . . The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, and includes the airborne shooter.

btaylor64 Sun Dec 10, 2006 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Think "on the shot" = "airborne shooter". Once the shooter touches down, she's not airborne anymore, is she? That's an easy way to remember that one item.

Another thing I try to do is to hold the whistle just a second and not call it till the ball goes in or is at least on the way through. it makes it easier to sell. If you wait to blow it, the whistle is easier to associate with "after the shot".

I'm going with the inverse of rainmaker here, and going to say blow it as soon as possible and don't split hairs if the foul is so close to the kid landing that it is bang bang. Give him the three shots. Thats not to say if we have a release and its quite a while after he lands that he gets fouled. then I believe you have to give it on the ground.

Adam Sun Dec 10, 2006 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
I'm going with the inverse of rainmaker here, and going to say blow it as soon as possible and don't split hairs if the foul is so close to the kid landing that it is bang bang. Give him the three shots. Thats not to say if we have a release and its quite a while after he lands that he gets fouled. then I believe you have to give it on the ground.

Yup, just ignore the rule if it makes it easier on you. :(

bob jenkins Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yup, just ignore the rule if it makes it easier on you. :(

Let me rephrase btaylor's post: There are many "benefit of the doubt" calls and the benefit of the doubt shoud go to the shooter. That is, if there's doubt as to whether the shooter had returned to the floor, then s/he was still airborne and the foul would be "in the act of shooting."

Now me: If my paraphrase is correct, I agree. IF the shooter is *clearly* on the floor, then the foul is after the shot.

Eastshire Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Let me rephrase btaylor's post: There are many "benefit of the doubt" calls and the benefit of the doubt shoud go to the shooter. That is, if there's doubt as to whether the shooter had returned to the floor, then s/he was still airborne and the foul would be "in the act of shooting."

Now me: If my paraphrase is correct, I agree. IF the shooter is *clearly* on the floor, then the foul is after the shot.

I personally consider the player an airborne shooter until s/he has been able to collect themselves on the ground (both feet down and regained balance). If s/he is contacted before that I still call it as an airborne shooter.

I read the OP as just one foot down and would call this a shooting foul.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
I personally consider the player an airborne shooter until s/he has been able to collect themselves on the ground (both feet down and regained balance). If s/he is contacted before that I still call it as an airborne shooter.

I read the OP as just one foot down and would call this a shooting foul.

According to the rules, a shooter's airborne status ends when <b>one</b> foot touches the court. You're calling it wrong.

You can't be airborne if you're touching the court. The definition of an "airborne shooter" in rule 4-1-1 states that the shooter has <b>not</b> returned to the floor.

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Let me rephrase btaylor's post: There are many "benefit of the doubt" calls and the benefit of the doubt shoud go to the shooter. That is, if there's doubt as to whether the shooter had returned to the floor, then s/he was still airborne and the foul would be "in the act of shooting."

Now me: If my paraphrase is correct, I agree. IF the shooter is *clearly* on the floor, then the foul is after the shot.

I agree; if there's some doubt, benefit goes to the shooter. However, it it's bang/bang but I can still tell the shooter clearly landed first; common foul.

Eastshire Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
According to the rules, a shooter's airborne status ends when <b>one</b> foot touches the court. You're calling it wrong.

You can't be airborne if you're touching the court. The definition of an "airborne shooter" in rule 4-1-1 states that the shooter has <b>not</b> returned to the floor.

But does it define returning to the floor?

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
But does it define returning to the floor?

Seriously?:eek:

Eastshire Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Seriously?:eek:

You think that an odd question? Seriously, there is no reason that returns to the floor and touches the floor necessarily have identical meanings. They may, but consider the possiblility that returns to the floor means more than the big toe has regained contact with the floor.

The main point of the airborne shooter rule is safety, extending airborne shooter protection to both feet on the floor is not, IMO, inconsitent with the rules as written or intended.

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
You think that an odd question? Seriously, there is no reason that returns to the floor and touches the floor necessarily have identical meanings. They may, but consider the possiblility that returns to the floor means more than the big toe has regained contact with the floor.

The main point of the airborne shooter rule is safety, extending airborne shooter protection to both feet on the floor is not, IMO, inconsitent with the rules as written or intended.

It's not like you can't call a foul after he hits the floor. If the shot falls, the penalty is more severe if you call it on the rebound. I've never once had a coach complain when I call this after the shot (not that this is the final arbiter of whether it's a good call, but the shooter is adequately protected if you call this a rebounding foul instead.)
That said, my eyes aren't so good. It's likely if his big toe is all that's touched before he gets hit; I didn't see the toe hit and I'm calling a shooting foul. However, I'm not waiting for him to "gather himself," or for both feet to land, before I release him of his airborne shooter status.

rainmaker Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
It's not like you can't call a foul after he hits the floor. If the shot falls, the penalty is more severe if you call it on the rebound.

If the shot falls, it's not on the rebound, since there is no rebound, it's after the shot. Minor semantics issue.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
But does it define returning to the floor?

Are you serious? If any part of you is touching the floor, you're not airborne. That's just plain old common sense.

You're interpreting the rule completely wrong.

Scrapper1 Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
But does it define returning to the floor?

If any part of you is touching the floor, you're not airborne.

Is "touching" defined? Because if your feet are inside shoes, then you're not really touching the floor; only the shoes are touching the floor. I think we need a committee to do further research.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Is "touching" defined? Because if your feet are inside shoes, then you're not really touching the floor; only the shoes are touching the floor. I think we need a committee to do further research.

Shut up.<i></i>

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
If the shot falls, it's not on the rebound, since there is no rebound, it's after the shot. Minor semantics issue.

Until the shot falls, the players are positioning themselves for a rebound. So, it's a rebound until the ball goes in. My whistle will most likely sound before the shot falls or ricochets, so there won't be a rebound either way. :)

Not going down without a fight.

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
Is "touching" defined? Because if your feet are inside shoes, then you're not really touching the floor; only the shoes are touching the floor. I think we need a committee to do further research.

I nominate Mr. Spelling Guy, Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy, and Rainmaker (someone has to make the

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 11, 2006 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
I nominate Mr. Spelling Guy, Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy, and Rainmaker (someone has to make the ???

Coffee?<i></i>

rainmaker Mon Dec 11, 2006 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Coffee?<i></i>

Like I said earlier, I'll be glad to make the coffee. If I make it this time, I know for sure, you'll never ask me to make it again!

rainmaker Mon Dec 11, 2006 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Coffee?<i></i>

Alternate response: You're not afraid my response to this will be a little snippy?

Adam Mon Dec 11, 2006 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Alternate response: You're not afraid my response to this will be a little snippy?

I was; that's why I counted on JR to finish for me. :D

bob jenkins Mon Dec 11, 2006 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire
But does it define returning to the floor?

Here's the NCAA definition: Art. 2. An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for goal until one foot has returned to the floor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1