The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Studying for Promotion Test - Confirm Answer (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29843-studying-promotion-test-confirm-answer.html)

golfdesigner Sat Dec 02, 2006 01:21pm

Studying for Promotion Test - Confirm Answer
 
:confused:
I am studying for promotion exam and have a question-- NFHS Rules--
I'm use ARS 2006 CD and reviewing test questions. Here is one I'd like confirmed:
B1 is attempting throw-in from the end line after A1's made basket when A2 commits an intentional foul against B2. After B2's free throw, the throw-in for Team B may be anywhere along the end line. True or False??

Test is Mon Dec 4, any help is appreciated.

Scrapper1 Sat Dec 02, 2006 01:34pm

This is a tricky question, but the answer is found in NFHS 7-5-7. It tells you explicitly when the throw-in team retains the right to run the endline.

I'll also say that the answer is different in NCAA.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:11pm

Actually this was a recent rule change. The NFHS added the word "common" to rule 7-5-7 in the 2004-05 rules book. This necessitated a change in the accompanying case play. Here is the current ruling:


7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-10)

BktBallRef Sat Dec 02, 2006 07:14pm

If the question is from an exam that was prior to the rule change that NVRef speaks of, then the answer would have changed. That's fairly common with the ARS software, as they do not alter the answers to the questions when rule changes occur.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I'll also say that the answer is different in NCAA.

Yes, for those who care, here is the NCAA rule:

7-5-7
After a successful goal, when an intentional personal foul or a
flagrant personal foul is committed near the end line, the team not credited
with the score shall be permitted to make the throw-in from any point
outside of the end line after taking its merited free throws.



This is the way that the NFHS used to do it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1