![]() |
|
|
|||
another rules question
after a made basket by B1 ball hits floor and stays on inbounds side of boundry plain. A1 goes out bounds and reaches threw boundry plain and tips ball to inbound player A2. Is this a violation and what rule can you site if it is a violation.
thanks Last edited by roadking; Sat Nov 25, 2006 at 03:24pm. |
|
|||
NFHS 9-2 NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
My take:
Quote:
NFHS 4-31 A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats, or rolls the ball to another player. but - NFHS 4-9-1,2 Boundary lines of the court consist of end lines and sidelines. The inside edges of these lines define the inbounds and out-of-bounds areas. So was the ball ever actually out of bounds? NFHS 4-4-4 A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location. Yes it was! So there is no violation here. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
RULE4, SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL ART. 1 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt. ART. 2 . . . A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt. 7-1-2 . . . The ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by: a. A player who is out of bounds. Therefore, I wish to sidestep this issue and would support calling a violation on this throw-in play by pointing to 9-2-5 ". . . The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court." |
|
|||
Quote:
And since it doesn't seem to me that a ball can have both backcourt and out of bounds status at the same time, I don't see how even if you ruled the thrower's touch of the ball a carry, that the ball could somehow be both in the backcourt and out of bounds at the same time (during the time the thrower's hand is in contact with the ball). Think of it this way: You don't call a backcourt violation when a sliding player, in contact with out of bounds, touches the ball in the backcourt near the sideline for what would have been a backcourt violation if the player had been in bounds -- you call out of bounds, don't you? -- Because the ball is now out of bounds - not in the backcourt, technically. Or am I totally off on this? |
|
|||
Backcourt has nothing to do with this situation. It's either inbounds or out of bounds. Forget about BC.
The original poster is not clear. If the ball is on the floor and the thrower pushes it to his teammate, it's a violation as the ball is inbounds and was never OOB. If the ball is not touching the floor, then the tocuh by the thrower is legal. You guys are making this way harder than it should be.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
on a related subject....
Team A scores. B1 grabs the ball and starts to take it out. He has one foot in and one foot out, and passes to B2. I called a violation. But, what happened was that B1 realized that A was coming with pressure and that B2 should take the ball out. I was disoriented when I realized what they were doing, but the call stood. 9.2.2 Situation C is the closest thing I find to this, but at what point does this become a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rules Question | LPK | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jun 16, 2005 09:44am |
Old rules question | TriggerMN | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:50pm |
Old Rules Question | Nevadaref | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jul 02, 2003 02:49pm |
Rules question #3...please help.... | trippingants4134 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm |
Rules question | JoeD1 | Basketball | 2 | Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm |