The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free Throws Rule Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29530-free-throws-rule-question.html)

ATLBrvs326 Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:45pm

Free Throws Rule Question
 
Okay I am reading the rule book and having trouble with something. Here is the situation. A1 is fouled in act of shooting and is awarded 2 shots. A1 is injured so A6 legally comes in to replace A1. (a) A7 then comes to the table to replace A6 and wants to shoot the free throws instead (b) A6 shoots 1 free throw then team A calls a timeout and wants to let A1 come back in a shoot the last free throw. Thanks for the help.

zebraman Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATLBrvs326
Okay I am reading the rule book and having trouble with something. Here is the situation. A1 is fouled in act of shooting and is awarded 2 shots. A1 is injured so A6 legally comes in to replace A1. (a) A7 then comes to the table to replace A6 and wants to shoot the free throws instead (b) A6 shoots 1 free throw then team A calls a timeout and wants to let A1 come back in a shoot the last free throw. Thanks for the help.

Interesting scenarios. :)

The sub for an injured player shoots the free throws. So in this case, once A6 subs for A1, A6 must shoot both free throws unless A6 becomes injured or has blood on his/her jersey etc.

A7 would have been allowed to substitute had A6 been shooting technical free throws instead of a personal foul.

Once a player has been replaced, they cannot return until the first dead ball after the clock has started. So A1 cannot come back in yet. Team A could have originally called a time-out to keep A1 in the game (provided A1 was ready to play when the time-out was over), but it is too late now because A1 was replaced.

Lotto Sat Nov 18, 2006 05:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
A7 would have been allowed to substitute had A6 been shooting technical free throws instead of a personal foul.

This is no longer true in NCAA (as of last year, I think?). The same player must attempt both FTs awarded because of a T.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1