![]() |
Quote:
If A1 jumps for a 3pt try and B1 jumps with him and touches the ball (doesn't knock it lose or create a held ball), JAR is saying that A1 should be able to drop the ball and recover it. This would be bailing out the offensive player thereby penalizing the defense. |
Quote:
I think what JAR is saying, is that if you can't tell whether or not the touch of the defender had an effect on the play, then you have to decide to whom you'll give the benefit of the doubt. It's unfair either way, I suppose. So how do you decide? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
So do you agree that if you see that the defender has had some contact, and that A1 is now no longer holding the ball, that you have to judge whether or not A1 dropped it on purpose, in order to determine whether or not to call a travel? Where on the conscious-drop vs whacked-away continuum you end up will be a judgment, and than will effect how you call or no call this, agreed? |
Quote:
I agree that it takes some judgement however I have always believed that the defender should be given the benefit of the doubt if you are not sure. Where is JAR during all this ;). He could have helped with some of the confusion. |
Quote:
You seem to have covered all the bases. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Every call/no call is perceived as unfair by someone. We decide this just like everything else, the best we can. That's why we get the big bucks. :) |
Quote:
yea, that's a good word, even if they use it on Star Trek. But I'm humiliated by the than/then thing, and the affect/effect thing. Those are two of my pet peeves, and I got them both wrong. **Groan!!*** It was just, ...uh... typos!! Yea, that's it, my typing is out of control. Uh, yea, sure, the, uh,.... typing..... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38am. |