The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29437-throw.html)

MidMadness Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:15pm

Throw in
 
A1 is throwing the ball in...he/she puts the ball thru the imaginary line and B1 grabs the ball and they tussle long enough to blow the whistle..Do you give it to B for tying it up...or do you blow the whistle for a held ball but give the ball back to A as there is no possession change on this play?? Thanks in advance

rfp Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:21pm

Since it's a held ball, you go the AP arrow. If it was an AP throw-in, the AP remains with team A since the throw in did not end and thus the arrow did not change. If it was not an AP throw-in and the arrow pointed to B, award the ball to team B for an AP throw-in.

lukealex Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:23pm

This is a case book play if you want to search for it, I just don't have my books with me.

Raymond Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp
It's a held ball. If it was an AP throw-in, the AP remains with team A since the throw-in did not end and thus the arrow does not change. If it was not an AP throw-in and the arrow pointed to B, award the ball to team B for an AP throw-in...and if the arrow pointed to A, switch arrow to B upon termination of subsequent AP throw-in by A.

slight change to your reply.

WhistlesAndStripes Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:34pm

If it's tied up long enough to warrant a whistle, since B1 is IB and A1 is still OOB, it's B's ball.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes
If it's tied up long enough to warrant a whistle, since B1 is IB and A1 is still OOB, it's B's ball.

Um, no. Not even close. RFP had it right.

rainmaker Mon Nov 13, 2006 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles and Stripes
If it's tied up long enough to warrant a whistle, since B1 is IB and A1 is still OOB, it's B's ball.

Um, no. Not even close. RFP had it right.

Without citations, I have no clue which of you is right.

Raymond Mon Nov 13, 2006 04:39pm

6.4.5 sitB would be the citation for the OP's question.

(and look, I answered that question with plenty of time to spare for MNF)

The extra-added benefit would be if this question is on tonight's test. ;)

Dan_ref Mon Nov 13, 2006 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Without citations, I have no clue which of you is right.

I hope you know which one is right.

rainmaker Mon Nov 13, 2006 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I hope you know which one is right.

Yea, it's a pretty safe bet that anything W&S says, isn't going to go in my direction, I'm taking the other one. Wow, did I say that out loud?

Dan_ref Mon Nov 13, 2006 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
Yea, it's a pretty safe bet that anything W&S says, isn't going to go in my direction, I'm taking the other one. Wow, did I say that out loud?

Dunno. Do you speak the words as you type them?

:)

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:41pm

This play was considered for a rule change by the NFHS committee back in 2004. It failed. Here was the proposal:


<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=7 width=393 border=1><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top height=370>
Change the interpretation from a held ball to a ball out of bounds by the player who holds the ball beyond a boundary line an opponent grasps the ball while it is still in the bands of the thrower-in by making the following changes. Following Note in 9-2-11, change "See penalty" to See Penalty 5." There is no penalty specified for this note. Add Penalty 5: If the opponent touches the ball there is no penalty and the clock is not started if stopped. If an opponent grasps the ball, the ball shall be declared out-of-bounds o the player throwing in the ball. The ruling of casebook play 7.6.3F on page 56 would change to: "The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in. If the throw-in is an alternating possession throw-in, the arrow would be reversed."
Rationale: In all instances in which a player is in possession of the ball and is touching a boundary line the ball is considered to be out-of-bounds by that player. If a held ball were to occur when two players were in-bounds but one of the players was touching a boundary line, the ball would be considered to be out-of-bounds by that player. This situation is also similar to the clarification made in 1994 in which a player, whose is making a throw-in, throws the ball to an opponent who is touching the boundary line. Changing this interpretation would be consistent with Rule 7 Section 1 Art. 2a, which states, "The ball is out-of-bounds when it touches a player who is out-of-bounds." Also it would reward the defensive player for making a good play and penalize the player making the throw-in for making a dumb play. This interpretation would agree with the NCAA interpretation of this play.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>


BTW, can anyone verify if that last sentence is incorrect?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1