The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interrupted Dribble vs Fumble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29413-interrupted-dribble-vs-fumble.html)

Carl Cramer Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:09am

Interrupted Dribble vs Fumble
 
A beginner question:

A1 loses control of his dribble ("interrupted dribble"} and crashes into B1 in an attempt to recover control of ball.

Or A1 "fumbles" a pass from a teammate and crashes into B1 in an attempt to recover control of ball.

Is the call the same in both cases? Is there any practical difference between a fumbled ball and an interrupted dribble in this scenario? In any scenario?

Thanks!

BktBallRef Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:55am

With regards to calling a foul on A1? No. It's a team control foul in both situations. There's certainly no violation in either play.

IREFU2 Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Cramer
A beginner question:

A1 loses control of his dribble ("interrupted dribble"} and crashes into B1 in an attempt to recover control of ball.

Or A1 "fumbles" a pass from a teammate and crashes into B1 in an attempt to recover control of ball.

Is the call the same in both cases? Is there any practical difference between a fumbled ball and an interrupted dribble in this scenario? In any scenario?

Thanks!

The key is control. Did he have control or not of the ball before the crash. If not, its a team control foul, if so, its a player control foul. Either way its an offensive foul.

Carl Cramer Mon Nov 13, 2006 06:42pm

OK. So no free throws awarded in those two situations. Right?

So let me add a third situation:

A1 muffs/fumbles a rebound - so no Player Control, no Team Control, no Nothin' Control - and crashes into B1 in an attempt to control the ball.

Is this, then, a plain old common foul on A1...with foul shots awarded to B1 in the bonus situation?

I guess I'm trying to understand: does the Defense ever shoot foul shots anymore...(except T's) ?

HawkeyeCubP Mon Nov 13, 2006 06:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Cramer
A1 muffs/fumbles a rebound - so no Player Control, no Team Control, no Nothin' Control - and crashes into B1 in an attempt to control the ball. Is this, then, a plain old common foul on A1...with foul shots awarded to B1 in the bonus situation?

Yes. Check out 10-6-Penalties (Rule 10 Summary).

BktBallRef Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Cramer
OK. So no free throws awarded in those two situations. Right?

So let me add a third situation:

A1 muffs/fumbles a rebound - so no Player Control, no Team Control, no Nothin' Control - and crashes into B1 in an attempt to control the ball.

Is this, then, a plain old common foul on A1...with foul shots awarded to B1 in the bonus situation?

I guess I'm trying to understand: does the Defense ever shoot foul shots anymore...(except T's) ?

You have to understand the concept of team control.

Team control begins when a player is holding/dirbbling a live ball inbounds.

Team controls ends when the ball is shot, becomes dead or is possessed by B.

Anything in between, a foul on A will be TC or it will be PC if the player possesses the ball.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Cramer
OK. So no free throws awarded in those two situations. Right?

So let me add a third situation:

A1 muffs/fumbles a rebound - so no Player Control, no Team Control, no Nothin' Control - and crashes into B1 in an attempt to control the ball.

Is this, then, a plain old common foul on A1...with foul shots awarded to B1 in the bonus situation?

I guess I'm trying to understand: does the Defense ever shoot foul shots anymore...(except T's) ?

Carl,
You have the concept down, but you need to be a little more precise with your basketball terminology. Allow me to help clarify something for you.

A muff means that the player never had control of the ball. It just hit his hands and slipped through or bounced off. Since this was a rebound, there would not be previous team control. Therefore, in this case the foul would not be a team control foul and bonus FTs would be awarded if merited.

A fumble means that the player was holding the ball and had control, then it slipped from his grasp per 4-21. Therefore, in this case, player control and thus team control were established prior to the fumble. Team control continues during the fumble, so the foul would be a team control foul and no FTs would be awarded.


Keep up the good work and keep asking questions! That is why we are here. :)

just another ref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:59pm

In memory of Chuck
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
....... if the player posses the ball.



So that's when a player sets the ball up and takes its picture? :D



Or maybe when the sheriff gets some guys on horses and chases after the ball?

Carl Cramer Tue Nov 14, 2006 05:51am

Got it. Thanks!

refnrev Tue Nov 14, 2006 08:34am

I'm really missing that spelling guy, you know?:(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1