The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Refresher Question Wrong (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29389-refresher-question-wrong.html)

PIAA REF Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:40pm

Refresher Question Wrong
 
Number 15 on the IAABO exam seems to give the wrong correct answer (Manybe I am wrong, but I don't think so)

The question is as follows: Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ballis in control of team A and while the clock is running. The officials are inaware that team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation/ The scorer now informs the official that team B had 6 players on the court. The Official rules no Technical foul can be assessed. Is the official correct. I said yes, the answer says no. It sights Rule 10, Section 1 Art 6: Have more than 5 team members participating simultaneously.
BUT, right under that it states Penalty: Penalized IF discovered while being violated.

So how could you have a T in the scenario above.

Jimgolf Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:18pm

Is this a correctable error? "Failure to award a merited free throw"

Has the time to correct the error passed? "In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started."

Scrapper1 Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:38pm

PIAA Ref, you are correct that the official answer is wrong. My association received an email that was forwarded from the IAABO "home office", saying that #15 was in error and that the actual answer should be "Yes".

There were also a couple other answers that were changed from the answer key.

RefLarry Fri Nov 10, 2006 05:22pm

I posted question 15 earlier...FYI
 
http://forum.officiating.com/showthread.php?t=29352

RefLarry Fri Nov 10, 2006 05:24pm

incorrect answer key on refresher
 
has anybody else dicovered any other answer(s) incorrect on the exam? I recently learned the key has 2 or 3 incorrect answers.

BillyMac Fri Nov 10, 2006 07:09pm

IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer Mistakes
 
According to our board secretary/treasurer and our board interpreter, there are three mistakes on the IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer And Reference Sheet. This information came out of a board Refresher Exam study session:

Question #15: Correct answer should be YES.

Question #49: Correct answer should be NO.

Question #80: Correct answer should be NO.

just another ref Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac
According to our board secretary/treasurer and our board interpreter, there are three mistakes on the IAABO 2006 Refresher Exam Answer And Reference Sheet. This information came out of a board Refresher Exam study session:

Question #15: Correct answer should be YES.

Question #49: Correct answer should be NO.

Question #80: Correct answer should be NO.

Three out of how many? This seem unacceptable now matter how many.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 11, 2006 01:12am

Personally, I don't like the answer to #13 or #33.

Nevadaref Sat Nov 11, 2006 01:39am

Tony,
Please post the questions!

Raymond Sat Nov 11, 2006 04:48am

13. While the official passes team A’s bench, someone from the bench utters uncomplimentary language. The official is not able to designate which bench personnel uttered the words. Official charges a technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct?

33. A–1 after receiving the ball, places the ball on the floor and simultaneously releases it with both hands. A–1 then picks up the ball and dribbles toward the side line. Official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

75. After the ball becomes live to begin the first quarter the official notices that A–1 is wearing an illegal jersey. A–1 plays the whole first quarter and enters the court to start the second quarter. Official assesses A–1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

Nevadaref Sat Nov 11, 2006 05:05am

Well, I don't know the official IAABO ruling for any of these questions, but here are my answers:
13. Yes
33. Yes
75. No

Jurassic Referee Sat Nov 11, 2006 07:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Well, I don't know the official IAABO ruling for any of these questions, but here are my answers:
13. Yes
33. Yes
75. No

That's what IAABO has also. Fwiw, I agree with you and IAABO.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
33. A–1 after receiving the ball, places the ball on the floor and simultaneously releases it with both hands. A–1 then picks up the ball and dribbles toward the side line. Official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

Interesting question....

We have a case play with a player who recovers the ball while laying on the floor that may be useful in this case.

(The case was quote here: http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...45&postcount=2)

If that player on the floor sits the ball down, stands, then picks up the ball, it is considered traveling. To me, that says that sitting the ball on the floor is not a dribble....otherwise it would have been a legal play.



Now to this case...

How is it different? The only differnce is the position of the player, not the action with the ball.


So, is sitting the ball on the floor a dribbler or not?? If not, then the official is wrong. If so, then teh case play I referenced is providing a contratdictory interpretation of stilling the ball on the floor.

26 Year Gap Sun Nov 12, 2006 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
13. While the official passes team A’s bench, someone from the bench utters uncomplimentary language. The official is not able to designate which bench personnel uttered the words. Official charges a technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct?We talked about this one, but the question does not state whether the T was direct or indirect to the coach. Because it was bench personnel it was indirect, but a T nonetheless.

33. A–1 after receiving the ball, places the ball on the floor and simultaneously releases it with both hands. A–1 then picks up the ball and dribbles toward the side line. Official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct? When the player released the ball, it became the start of a dribble. When he picked it up, the dribble ended. The player then started another dribble. At least that is how this one was explained at our refresher.

75. After the ball becomes live to begin the first quarter the official notices that A–1 is wearing an illegal jersey. A–1 plays the whole first quarter and enters the court to start the second quarter. Official assesses A–1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

Once the player is playing, it is deemed legal. Reading into it you could argue an illegal number might have been the reason for its illegality, but the question does not say it was an illegal number.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 13, 2006 01:25am

Quote:

33. A–1 after receiving the ball, places the ball on the floor and simultaneously releases it with both hands. A–1 then picks up the ball and dribbles toward the side line. Official rules this an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?
Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
When the player released the ball, it became the start of a dribble. When he picked it up, the dribble ended. The player then started another dribble.


How does that ruling fit with case 4.45.5.B? In it A1 gains control of the ball on the floor and it says...
"It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball."
Since it is not possible to travel during a dribble, the act of putting the ball on the floor must not be a dribble.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 01:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
[/indent]How does that ruling fit with case 4.44.5.B? In it A1 gains control of the ball on the floor and it says...
"It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball."


Since it is not possible to travel during a dribble, the act of putting the ball on the floor must not be a dribble.

That Case Book ruling is the decision by the NFHS that the player's action is an unfair attempt to circumvent 4-44-5b. Therefore, it has been ruled a violation.
In the dribble situation, there is no such difficulty. The normal dribbling rules are simply enforced. Do so prevents the player from gaining any unfair advantage.
Think of what the consequences would be if setting the ball down on the floor and releasing it wasn't considered a dribble. A player who had already used his dribble and was trapped, could put the ball down between his legs, shield it from other players with his body, and then move to a more advantageous location or position and pick the ball back up. That would make a farce of the traveling and dribbling restrictions.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Once the player is playing, it is deemed legal. Reading into it you could argue an illegal number might have been the reason for its illegality, but the question does not say it was an illegal number.

Note that "illegal number" means "contains a 6 - 9". This makes the jersey illegal, so the penalty (one per person) and timeframe (discovered before the ball becomes live) the same.

If the number must be changed to match the scorebook (or vice versa), that's a different issue, penalty, timeframe, and doesn't make the jersey illegal. Thus, it doesn't apply to the question posed.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF
Number 15 on the IAABO exam seems to give the wrong correct answer (Manybe I am wrong, but I don't think so)

The question is as follows: Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ballis in control of team A and while the clock is running. The officials are inaware that team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which team A commits a violation/ The scorer now informs the official that team B had 6 players on the court. The Official rules no Technical foul can be assessed. Is the official correct. I said yes, the answer says no. It sights Rule 10, Section 1 Art 6: Have more than 5 team members participating simultaneously.
BUT, right under that it states Penalty: Penalized IF discovered while being violated.

So how could you have a T in the scenario above.

BTW, we never gave you the Case Book ruling on this, so here it is:

SIX IN GAME
10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap
Once the player is playing, it is deemed legal. Reading into it you could argue an illegal number might have been the reason for its illegality, but the question does not say it was an illegal number.

If they testers want you to focus upon the number, they will explicitly state "illegal number", but if they mention an illegal jersey or shirt they are referring to some other aspect of the jersey being illegal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Note that "illegal number" means "contains a 6 - 9". This makes the jersey illegal, so the penalty (one per person) and timeframe (discovered before the ball becomes live) the same.

Bob, My interpretation of that is different. It is my understanding that an illegal number does not make the shirt itself illegal.

For a shirt to be considered illegal something else besides the number must be wrong with it. (i.e. too many colors, illegal memorial patch, visible manufacturer's logo, etc.)

If a player were to have a number that contained a 6, 7, 8, or 9 the player would be penalized for wearing an illegal number, but not also for wearing an illegal shirt. Notice the "or" in the language of 10-3-2. To me that means that they are seperate infractions.
. . . Wear an illegal number or an illegal shirt or illegal pants/skirt.
PENALTY: (Art. 2) Each violation is penalized one time if discovered prior to ball becoming live for each designated starter and each substitute who enters.

I do not believe that it is the intent of the rule to penalize the kid twice for having one item wrong on his shirt. If that were the case, then no one could ever play with an illegal number because that team member would receive two player technical fouls and be disqualified! :eek:

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:09am

Furthermore, triple-digit numbers are also illegal even if they don't contain a numeral above 5.

For example, 333 is illegal.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Bob, My interpretation of that is different. It is my understanding that an illegal number does not make the shirt itself illegal.
[/COLOR]

Legal uniforms are described in 3-4. Violations of this are ILLEGAL uniforms, punished under 10-3-2.

That's different from an INCORRECT number, as in 3-2 and penalized under 10-1-2.

That's my only point.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Legal uniforms are described in 3-4. Violations of this are ILLEGAL uniforms, punished under 10-3-2.

That's different from an INCORRECT number [in the scorebook], as in 3-2 and penalized under 10-1-2.

That's my only point.

[I added that for clarity.]
I agree with that point. One is a Team T and the other is a Player T.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Personally, I don't like the answer to #13 or #33.

#13, I'm not calling a T on anybody when I don't know who the remark came from. And while I realize it's an exam environment, I don;t believe this is the correct approach for teaching either.

#33, sitting the ball on the floor is NOT a dribble.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
#33, sitting the ball on the floor is NOT a dribble.

But you believe that bouncing it off your foot without it touching the floor is? :D

Can I get a Lah me from JR? :)

BktBallRef Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:09am

Have you actually read those rules I sent to you?
 
A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.


"...bats or pushes to..."

It doesn't say sitting or placing the ball on the floor.

And to your other point about the foot, it doesn't say that the ball has to hit the floor to be a dribble, does it?

Just another ****ed up interp by the IAABO, and by NevadaRef. :rolleyes:

bob jenkins Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
[I added that for clarity.]
I agree with that point. One is a Team T and the other is a Player T.

The incorrect number needn't be in the scorebook -- it could be on the jersey, requiring (or providing the option) for the player to change (10-1-2d)

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The incorrect number needn't be in the scorebook -- it could be on the jersey, requiring (or providing the option) for the player to change (10-1-2d)

True, I was thinking of a the case in which the team member was yet to play.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.


"...bats or pushes to..."

It doesn't say sitting or placing the ball on the floor.

And to your other point about the foot, it doesn't say that the ball has to hit the floor to be a dribble, does it?


Setting the ball down on the floor isn't pushing it to the floor? What is it? Lowering it to the floor?

As for the foot play, the rule does say "to the floor." To me that means that it actually gets there. I believe that there is solid rules support for my understanding.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Just another ****ed up interp by the IAABO, and by NevadaRef. :D

That's how it should look. :)

Camron Rust Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
That Case Book ruling is the decision by the NFHS that the player's action is an unfair attempt to circumvent 4-44-5b. Therefore, it has been ruled a violation.
In the dribble situation, there is no such difficulty. The normal dribbling rules are simply enforced. Do so prevents the player from gaining any unfair advantage.
Think of what the consequences would be if setting the ball down on the floor and releasing it wasn't considered a dribble. A player who had already used his dribble and was trapped, could put the ball down between his legs, shield it from other players with his body, and then move to a more advantageous location or position and pick the ball back up. That would make a farce of the traveling and dribbling restrictions.

No, it would be traveling if you apply the same principle as the case I referenced....considered the same as holding the ball for the purposes of the traveling rule.

BktBallRef Mon Nov 13, 2006 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I believe that there is solid rules support for my understanding.

Obviously you do. That doesn't mean your right. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1