![]() |
landing spot
I've never considered this situation before and I'm also not saying this situation was anything more than an accident even though SportsCenter mentioned it as a possibility. However, now that it's been seen by alot of HS players, it's something to watch.
Monday night, Josh Howard goes up for a jump shot and the defender jumps to defend. The defender landed first with his feet pretty far apart and 1 foot in Howard's landing spot. Howard comes down on his foot, rolls his ankle and is out for a couple of weeks. If you judge the defender's intentions were to cause injury, it would have to be a flagrant foul however, you kow that tape would be reviewed over and over. Has anyone ever seen/heard of this stitch? |
errr...what's the question?
|
you have a foul (Block) on the defender
bring someone in to shoot the freethrows and move on, as long as there is not a blantant under cut you have no way to judge intention here. |
This sounds like incidental contact to me. This kind of injury is frequent, but there is no intent here.
|
Isn't this a question?
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I wish I could post the link so everyone could see the play. |
Quote:
but as you said nobody puts much stock in sports centers ability to referee!:) |
Quote:
And to the contrary, although I am sure you were referring to HS rules, in the NBA Howard would either have to shoot the free throws or he could not play the rest of the night. Just thought i would throw that in there. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03pm. |