The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29347-foul-b1-t-coach-another-t-coach-exits.html)

jritchie Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:07pm

Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits
 
Had a situation last night.(NAIA game)
Coach has been riding partner the hole first half. He has talked to him a couple of times and finally he told him enough talking! :49 seconds in the half I am C and call a foul on B1 on a drive to the basket that of course the coach doesn't like. After i report and turn to watch free throw administration, i guess the coach did some nice hand jestures and my partner that was getting jumped on already just happened to see him so he "T'd" him up! The coach then walked on the floor at my partner and wanted an explanation and before i could get them calmed down he blew another and tossed him!

We got together and was talking about what shots to shoot first. What do you do when you know you are right and both partners disagree so they do what they want to????

They shot the 2 shots for the foul, then shot 4 "t" free throws and threw it in at half court.... i told them that is wrong, but since i was the "younger, inexperienced" of the 3 they didn't want to listen!

Should we not of shot the 4 "t" throws, then went with POI which was the 2 free throws for team A???? just wanting to make sure....

Scrapper1 Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:11pm

Yes, using NCAA rules, you shoot the direct T first, then resume the game with the shots for the personal foul.

Email them the rule and make them buy the beer next time you work together.

tjones1 Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:14pm

Under Fed, they had it right. Just in case someone asks. ;)

JRutledge Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:17pm

You are right. You go back to POI after all the T FTs. At least this is the way I understand it in both sides of the NCAA rulebook. I could be wrong without deeper investigation.

Peace

Junker Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:44pm

I don't work a lot of college, but it is my understanding that you were right. Were you the R? If so I would have gone my way and gotten it right.

JRutledge Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:45pm

I am going to go out on a limb here.......
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
I don't work a lot of college, but it is my understanding that you were right. Were you the R? If so I would have gone my way and gotten it right.

If he was the young guy, it is doubtful he would be the R in a college game. ;)

Peace

OHBBREF Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
If he was the young guy, it is doubtful he would be the R in a college game. ;)

Peace

Could have been "R" for rookie?

Junker Wed Nov 08, 2006 01:04pm

Maybe I should slow down and read things. In my defense, if he's the only one that got it right, maybe he should have been the R. :D

jritchie Wed Nov 08, 2006 01:06pm

I was not the R, but am tomorrow night, whooo hoooooo! thanks for the replies, will definitely make sure they knew they messed it up!

btaylor64 Wed Nov 08, 2006 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Had a situation last night.(NAIA game)
Coach has been riding partner the hole first half. He has talked to him a couple of times and finally he told him enough talking! :49 seconds in the half I am C and call a foul on B1 on a drive to the basket that of course the coach doesn't like. After i report and turn to watch free throw administration, i guess the coach did some nice hand jestures and my partner that was getting jumped on already just happened to see him so he "T'd" him up! The coach then walked on the floor at my partner and wanted an explanation and before i could get them calmed down he blew another and tossed him!

We got together and was talking about what shots to shoot first. What do you do when you know you are right and both partners disagree so they do what they want to????

They shot the 2 shots for the foul, then shot 4 "t" free throws and threw it in at half court.... i told them that is wrong, but since i was the "younger, inexperienced" of the 3 they didn't want to listen!

Should we not of shot the 4 "t" throws, then went with POI which was the 2 free throws for team A???? just wanting to make sure....

jritchie,

If you know a 100% that you are right, then I would say to them, "Hey guys, I am sure this is the rule". If they don't agree with you then say, "Guys I will take full responsibility for this." By saying that you are saying that if you get it wrong and the commissioner comes seeking somebody out, then it will be your butt and not there's. After saying that though you can only leave it up to them. If they don't believe you after the last line then they are not good partners any way.

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
jritchie,

If you know a 100% that you are right, then I would say to them, "Hey guys, I am sure this is the rule". If they don't agree with you then say, "Guys I will take full responsibility for this." By saying that you are saying that if you get it wrong and the commissioner comes seeking somebody out, then it will be your butt and not there's. After saying that though you can only leave it up to them. If they don't believe you after the last line then they are not good partners any way.

Huh? If I'm the R on the game, the buck stops with me. If we, as a crew, blow a rule, I can't go crawling back to the commissioner saying, "We weren't sure, but the rookie said he'd take full responsibility." If I tried that, I would fully expect to never be the R again. Perhaps never even work for that commissioner again.

While such an offer by the rookie may be well intentioned, I could never accept it. Even if I agreed to go with his input, if it's wrong I would have be the one to take the blame. It was my crew; it was my decision; it was my responsibility.

Texas Aggie Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:38pm

I don't like the college rule for a couple of reasons. First, it removes the age-old phrase: "penalize them in the order they were committed." That's a very simple, yet effective, concept. Second, it minimizes the effect of the foul penalty. 2 shots and the ball should be the minimum.

Mark Padgett Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Coach has been riding partner the hole


What is this, Brokeback Mountain? :eek:

Gimlet25id Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:46pm

According to NCAA rules, "
Section 10. Penalty for Unsportsmanlike Conduct of Bench
Personnel

Art. 1. The penalty for a direct technical foul involving unsportsmanlike

conduct of bench personnel shall be two free throws to a player of
the offended team. The ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption."

You would shoot all T's before the 2 shot foul. SO you would shoot the 4 free throws with the lane cleared then fill the lane to shoot the personal foul free throws, this is the POI.

What to do if your partners don't want to hear your information....My suggestion would be to say, "I'm 150 percent sure that @ the college level we shoot the T's first then go to POI." If they still don't agree then it would be your resonsibilty to bring this back up in the post game , if you have one. Which it's sounds like your partners wouldn't care to do. Bring out the rule book and discuss the rule. If you still don't get nowhere then leave and report the infraction to you Supervisor.


Nevadaref Wed Nov 08, 2006 08:47pm

In honor of Chuck!

Quote:

Originally Posted by jritchie
Had a situation last night.(NAIA game)
Coach has been riding partner the whole first half.

Dang you, Padgett, you beat me to it. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1