The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
You can tell it's still early

Last night had a MS girl's tourney. First game is a total blow out. Score was 48-7 after three. Don't know or care what the score was when it ended. During third quarter my partner and I must have both been half asleep. I'm lead. Red 41 puts up a shot. I whistle a foul on white 13. I go to the table and report, "White 13, Illegal use of the hands. Two shots." I turn around to go to my spot when I see both teams breaking to other end of the court. My partner had just inbounded the ball to white while I was finishing reporting the foul. Out of instinct I break with them only to realize I had just reported a shooting foul on white. I let them get to the other end. A white player shoots and the ball is tipped by red and goes out of bounds. I signal dead ball, then point to other basket and say, "We have a correctable error. Two shots for red." She makes both. White starts to inbound, to which I double tweet and point back to other corner to resume play from the spot for the the POI and I give white the ball. I don't know if it was brain freeze or being lulled to sleep put of sheer boredom. It must still be early in the season.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 02:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,518
Was there a post before JR's? I didn't see anything.

Now let me get this straight, you call a foul against WHITE and RED is due two shots. But not only does your partner put the ball in play via a throw-in, but he gives it to the team which committed the foul!!! He is definitely asleep!

You made a small mistake by turning and running with the play, but it is a natural reaction. However, even if you had blown the play dead right then, you would have to have done the exact same thing to correct the error. So that really doesn't matter much.

As far as I can tell you fixed the error the right way. You didn't say this, but I hope that you did NOT allow players along the FT lane while administering the FTs from the error.

Overall good job, and take this as a reminder to work on your mental focus during blowouts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
early lead off base (FP) DaNewGuy Softball 5 Thu Jul 21, 2005 08:13pm
Eject early and often? akalsey Baseball 42 Mon Jun 06, 2005 07:06pm
A Bit Early brandan89 Basketball 0 Sun Dec 19, 2004 11:01pm
IP or leaving early? Dakota Softball 7 Sat Nov 13, 2004 01:15am
Get'em early! BktBallRef Basketball 12 Mon Dec 30, 2002 11:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1