![]() |
Correctable errors
Team A is awarded two free throws after being fouled while in the act of shooting, but the first attempt is missed and the ball is rebounded ny team B. Team B then dribbles down to the other end and gets fouled ,but they are not in the one and one. Before putting the ball back in play the referee realizes that team A was supposed to get another free throw attempt. What should be done?
I should know this ,but I have never had this happen to me until last night. Thank God it was a junior high game. We went to the other end and let the player from Team A shoot the other free throw which he made, and then we brought the ball back to the point of interruption and let Team B inbound it. Was we right or not? I was a little embarrased about the whole thing. I been doing Varsity games for 10 years and I just could not remember the ruling, but I sure was glad it was Junior High. We did catch the mistake before we had two dead balls. |
I believe you got it right. This is a correctable error, merited free throw not given. You can't put the time back on the clock or take away the foul. Once you found the error and awarded the free throw, the ball should have been given to B at the POI.
Good call, but correct me if I am wrong in any aspect. |
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Under FIBA rules:
this is a correcteble error. The freethrow should be shotby A's player. Then you let Team B shot any ft they were awarded after team A's foul or they get the ball (just as after any foul). |
We took like a minute or so to decide this. I wanted to make sure we were doing the right thing. I could hear a few fans saying they don't know what they are doing, but I was gonna take as much time as I needed. Oh yeah by the way Team A made the free throw we awarded him which put them ahaead by two. Team B inbounded the ball and scored to send it into O.T. Yeah so you can see where I wanted to get it right, and I think we did. Team A won the game.
|
If you notice 4 out of the 5 correctable errors involve FTs. You can easily prevent them if you just make sure what you are doing before you shoot any FT. If you are unsure if you are shooting 2 FTs or a 1 and 1 as an example, then stop everything until all officials are sure what is going on. You might have just let your guard down like many of us do during those kinds of games.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
You'd still have the same ruling without the 2nd foul (it could have just been a violation or timeout that stops the clock). The rebound by B is the "change of possession". From that point until the correctable window expires (live ball after dead ball after clock has run), the resolution is the same.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
This way your correctable error would have been avoided. |
Quote:
Who cares about a final, definitive answer? Don't wanna interrupt the ol' game flow.:) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Great. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
My point remains that you should always be able to prevent correctable errors. Further, you should never go to the table to resolve a scorekeeper's error and walk away without a final, definitive answer. |
Quote:
You can't. Even if the book fully crosschecks and everything adds up, it's possible that is is still wrong. Perhaps they recorded a foul on the wrong player/team...in the first minute of the game. Unless you remember every thing that happens on the floor (from beginning to end), there will be some errors that you can't fix. Bear in mind that I am more than willing to stop and analyze the book if need be. I've taken several minutes on occassion to straighten out a poorly kept book to determine if we were in the bonus or not, if a player really has 5 fouls or not, what the score should be. But, when it all looks in order and adds up, you may not be able to find the error so easily. |
Quote:
How is it that you do not have the ability to remember and have definite knowledge of every single foul call in the game yet you easily give that ability to the scorer? Don't tell me because the scorer is recording everything, because you already went through everything that was recorded and didn't find anything wrong. And to convince yourself (hopefully) you conferred with your partner - "hey pard, book sez 9, I would swear we're at 10" - and finally everyone agreed the book had it right. So whatever new information the scorer has is not based on something he recorded - IOW neither you nor he has definite knowledge to change the book. Because if you did, you would have changed it the first time. So, unless the scorer pulls out a slip of paper that says "Note to self: I gave the wrong team a foul in the first minute of the game" I'm not changing a thing. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55pm. |