![]() |
|
|||
|
Did anyone read the post that I already made in this thread?
I cited the relevant rules therein. This seems ridiculous, but according to the rules AS WRITTEN, the play described in the original post is a double dribble violation. The NFHS needs to fix this! It seems to be a gap in the current rules. I have never called this a violation before because I have never closely examined the legality of the play. Which body part of the defender the dribble strikes definitely matters as only a bat WITH THE HAND ends the dribble and permits a new one by the original dribbler. Why? Because that's what the rules book specifies. 9-5-3, which Mick and JR are using to justify the legality of the play, only applies to a PASS or a FUMBLE. It says so right there in black and white. In this situation the ball certainly is NOT passed, and it doesn't seem to meet the rules book definition of a fumble either. Therefore, I don't believe that this rule is applicable. Rainmaker, Keep searching, if you find anything in addition to what I have already posted, please let us know! |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation | sportmagic | Basketball | 12 | Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm |
| Illegal start of a dribble? | RefLarry | Basketball | 20 | Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm |
| illegal dribble | elecref | Basketball | 22 | Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm |
| carry/illegal dribble | cowbyfan1 | Basketball | 37 | Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am |
| Illegal Dribble | huskyz | Basketball | 20 | Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm |