The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot at wrong basket and fouled (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28279-shot-wrong-basket-fouled.html)

reffish Wed Sep 13, 2006 08:14pm

shot at wrong basket and fouled
 
Player A shoots at wrong basket and is fouled by player B. No one notices that the shot was at wrong basket.

A. After FT, officials notice that players are shooting at wrong basket. Change direction and move on.

B. Before any FT, notice at wrong basket, do you shoot FT?

C. After first FT, notice at wrong basket, what do you do?

Jurassic Referee Wed Sep 13, 2006 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish
Player A shoots at wrong basket and is fouled by player B. No one notices that the shot was at wrong basket.

A. After FT, officials notice that players are shooting at wrong basket. Change direction and move on.

B. Before any FT, notice at wrong basket, do you shoot FT?

C. After first FT, notice at wrong basket, what do you do?

A. Correctable error. Cancel the FT's. Get 'em going the right way, and then A either gets a 1/1 or 2 shot bonus, or if team A isn't in the bonus yet, a throw-in at the spot closest to the foul.

B. See A.

C. See A.

If A is shooting at the wrong basket, the ball is dead immediately when the whistle is blown for the foul. No basket if it goes in. A would only get FT's if team A was in the bonus; otherwise team A gets a throw-in at the spot closest to where the foul occurred. See NFHS case book play 4.41.2. Note that if A was fouled <b>after</b> the ball went through, you would count the basket, but the foul on A would be ignored unless the contact was ruled intentional or flagrant, as per NFHS rule 4-19-1NOTE.

Nevadaref Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:16pm

It's a little complicated.
 
You will need to clarify your situation before we can give you a true answer.

Do you mean that the officials started teams going in the wrong directions at the beginning of a quarter or do you mean that a couple of players became confused after a steal and began playing in the wrong direction? Or perhaps everyone began attacking the wrong baskets following a timeout.

The ruling is different and depends upon which situation occurred.

If the teams are going the wrong way to begin play at the start of a quarter because the officials screwed up, then all the action counts and the foul is a foul in the act of shooting. The offended player will be awarded two FTs. When the mistake is discovered the teams are simply directed to turn around and play in the proper directions. If you notice before shooting any of the FTs, the remaining FTs that have yet to be awarded would be shot at the proper basket. All of that is per NFHS rule 4-5-4.

If the case is due to confusion that happens at some point during the game, then the player is not considered to be in the act of shooting, since one may only attempt a try at one's own basket (4-5-1 and 4-41-2). No FTs should be awarded. If they are by mistake, then these FTs are unmerited FTs and subject to cancellation under the correctable error rules in 2-10.

Mwanr1 Fri Sep 15, 2006 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Note that if A was fouled <b>after</b> the ball went through, you would count the basket, but the foul on A would be ignored unless the contact was ruled intentional or flagrant, as per NFHS rule 4-19-1NOTE.


Can you further explain this....

-Why would you award the basketball to team A if they make a shot at their own basket? How do we "ignore" the foul after we blew the whistle?

Jurassic Referee Fri Sep 15, 2006 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
Can you further explain this....

-Why would you award the basketball to team A if they make a shot at their own basket? How do we "ignore" the foul after we blew the whistle?

Um, I didn't say that I would award the basket to team A. I would award the basket to the team in whose basket the ball went through, which was team B. The ball was live when it went through the basket, so you have to score the 2-pointer(never a 3-pointer because it wasn't a "try", by rule). As soon as the ball clears the net, it becomes dead. Any contact during a dead ball is then ignored unless that contact is intententional or flagrant, or on an airborne shooter. You can never have an airborne shooter on someone throwing the ball at the wrong basket anyway.

The whistle immediately makes the ball dead on an attempt at the wrong basket. The ruling on this play will thus depend on <b>when</b> the whistle is blown.....before or after the ball went through the basket.

Make any more sense now, or am I still confusing you?

reffish Fri Sep 15, 2006 03:44pm

Address all situations:

Officials know right away that shooter shot at wrong basket.

Officials don't know at wrong basket: award FT at wrong basket, inbound ball and realize at wrong basket.

Officials realize wrong basket before 1st Ft.

Officials realize wrong basket after 1st FT.

Nevadaref Fri Sep 15, 2006 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by reffish
Address all situations:

Officials know right away that shooter shot at wrong basket.

Officials don't know at wrong basket: award FT at wrong basket, inbound ball and realize at wrong basket.

Officials realize wrong basket before 1st Ft.

Officials realize wrong basket after 1st FT.

All of these are still within the correctable error timeframe.

So with the exception of the teams attacking the wrong way by the mistake of the officials, all four of these situations need to be fixed by cancelling the FTs and resuming at the POI.

Mwanr1 Fri Sep 15, 2006 07:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um, I didn't say that I would award the basket to team A. I would award the basket to the team in whose basket the ball went through, which was team B. The ball was live when it went through the basket, so you have to score the 2-pointer(never a 3-pointer because it wasn't a "try", by rule). As soon as the ball clears the net, it becomes dead. Any contact during a dead ball is then ignored unless that contact is intententional or flagrant, or on an airborne shooter. You can never have an airborne shooter on someone throwing the ball at the wrong basket anyway.

The whistle immediately makes the ball dead on an attempt at the wrong basket. The ruling on this play will thus depend on <b>when</b> the whistle is blown.....before or after the ball went through the basket.

Make any more sense now, or am I still confusing you?


Yes - thanks!:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1