The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   excessive time-out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/28168-excessive-time-out.html)

oc Wed Sep 06, 2006 09:16pm

excessive time-out
 
When is it to late to penalize a coach for taking an excessive time-out? 10-1-7 says penalize when discovered but oviously there has to be a time when it it too late to go back and penalize it. If noticed during the middle of the time-out -- I don't think would be too late. My guess is right up until the ball becomes live.

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:52am

"Penalized when discovered" means exactly what it says. There is no time limit involved, up to the time that the officials have left the visual confines of the floor at the end of the game. You simply administer the team "T" when the official scorer notifies you of the infraction.....i.e.-when it happens or at any time later.

Official99 Thu Sep 07, 2006 01:40am

In high school ball, my understanding is a team can buy an "extra/excessive" time-out with a T. I've always penalized when discovered, but allowed them to finish the time-out. If they want to keep taking excessive time-outs, I will keep giving them T's.

I am not saying this is right or wrong, I am just saying thats how I have done it. Anyone have any idea if this is correct or not?

Nevadaref Thu Sep 07, 2006 02:02am

You are correct. They get the time-out and are entitled to use the time at the expense of a team technical foul. Just don't allow this act to be done repeatedly such that it becomes a travesty of the game (5-4-1).

garote Thu Sep 07, 2006 08:07am

Actually if you know that a team is out of time outs, you are not required to recognize the request.

If it’s an honest error on the tables or the official’s part for the first one so be it. After that I feel we are giving a game advantage to the team, out of time outs. Then need to manage their time outs more wisely.

JMO

bob jenkins Thu Sep 07, 2006 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by garote
Actually if you know that a team is out of time outs, you are not required to recognize the request.

Reference, please.

I don't think the section in the rules book about granting a TO contains any phrase similar to what you wrote above. It says (parphrasing) that a TO is granted when requested, and a player of the team is in control of the ball, or the ball is at the disposal of that team, or neither team has control. Period.

Unless, of course, you're talking about other than NCAA or NFHS rules.

JRutledge Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by garote
Actually if you know that a team is out of time outs, you are not required to recognize the request.

I know a lot of people agree with that philosophy, but that is not a good philosophy. For one it is possible that you are not aware of the T.O. situation. It is possible that you were not informed properly. You should not take it into your hands whether a team knows the situation or not. It is each team's responsibility to know how many timeouts. You are putting the other team at a disadvantage by not granting a timeout in this situation.

Peace

mick Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:30am

...A travesty ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You are correct. They get the time-out and are entitled to use the time at the expense of a team technical foul. Just don't allow this act to be done repeatedly such that it becomes a travesty of the game (5-4-1).

I never thought about it, but I think that works.

zebraman Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by garote
Actually if you know that a team is out of time outs, you are not required to recognize the request.

JMO

I was once told by a big time D-1 ref at a camp that if I know a team is out of time-outs, I should "count ceiling tiles" if they try to call another one. (In other words, pretend like I don't see it).

I don't buy that philosophy (but obviously it works for him).

Z

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by garote
Actually if you know that a team is out of time outs, you are not required to recognize the request.

That's completely wrong. The official <b>IS</b> required to grant a TO if the TO request is made as per NFHS rule 5-8-3. See case book plays 5.12.4SitB and 10.1.7 also.

NCAA rules are the same. The TO request <b>MUST</b> be granted. Ask anyone at the Univ. of Michigan.:)

JRutledge Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
NCAA rules are the same. The TO request <b>MUST</b> be granted. Ask anyone at the Univ. of Michigan.:)

Tell me about it. :rolleyes:

Peace

Raymond Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
That's completely wrong. The official <b>IS</b> required to grant a TO if the TO request is made as per NFHS rule 5-8-3. See case book plays 5.12.4SitB and 10.1.7 also.

NCAA rules are the same. The TO request <b>MUST</b> be granted. Ask anyone at the Univ. of Michigan.:)

Is Mark Cuban, or any of the Maverick trolls on this forum, also aware? Or maybe there is some different wording in the NBA rulebook :confused:

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 07, 2006 01:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Is Mark Cuban, or any of the Maverick trolls on this forum, also aware? Or maybe there is some different wording in the NBA rulebook :confused:

Naw, we looked up the NBA rule way back on that long thread with the Maverick fanboys and the goof that posed as Mark Cuban. The NBA rule is pretty explicit.

<u><b>NBA rule 5, Section VII-g:</b></u>
<i>Requests fot a timeout in excess of the authorized number <b>shall</b> be granted and a technical foul <b>shall</b> be assessed. Following the timeout, the ball will be awarded to the opposing team and play shall resume with a throw-in nearest the spot where play was interrupted.</i>

oc Thu Sep 07, 2006 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
"Penalized when discovered" means exactly what it says. There is no time limit involved, up to the time that the officials have left the visual confines of the floor at the end of the game. You simply administer the team "T" when the official scorer notifies you of the infraction.....i.e.-when it happens or at any time later.

So just to confirm; if a coach calls an excessive time-out in the middle of the 3rd quarter and in the middle of the 4th Quarter we discover that it was an excessive time-out you administer a team "T"?

Jurassic Referee Thu Sep 07, 2006 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oc
So if a coach calls an excessive time-out in the middle of the 3rd quarter and in the middle of the 4th Quarter we discover that it was an excessive time-out you administer a team "T"?

Yes.<i></i>

oc Thu Sep 07, 2006 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yes.<i></i>

Man you answer fast.

26 Year Gap Thu Sep 07, 2006 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zebraman
I was once told by a big time D-1 ref at a camp that if I know a team is out of time-outs, I should "count ceiling tiles" if they try to call another one. (In other words, pretend like I don't see it).

I don't buy that philosophy (but obviously it works for him).

Z

Most of the gyms I work don't have ceiling tiles.

A coach would have to be a real moron to keep calling them after one T, though. If his club is behind, not a great way to catch up, no matter how much strategy is discussed. If his club is ahead, a great way to choke away a lead.

REFVA Fri Sep 08, 2006 06:46am

Quote:

In high school ball, my understanding is a team can buy an "extra/excessive" time-out with a T. I've always penalized when discovered, but allowed them to finish the time-out. If they want to keep taking excessive time-outs, I will keep giving them T's.

My understanding is that, if excessive time out is called after already being T'd for calling too many, you do not allow them to conference, they just get a T. shoot the fouls and change possession.

I might be wrong, but about 99% sure of this.

Jurassic Referee Fri Sep 08, 2006 06:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by REFVA
My understanding is that, if excessive time out is called after already being T'd for calling too many, you do not allow them to conference, they just get a T. shoot the fouls and change possession.

I might be wrong, but about 99% sure of this.

I'm 100% sure that you're wrong.

The team gets the full TO. The FT's for the technical foul are shot after the TO is over.

See the casebook play that I already referenced in a previous post- CB 10.1.7. That says that the team is granted the TO, even though they don't have any left.

It doesn't make any sense to penalize a team for taking an excess TO if they never do take that excess TO.

REFVA Fri Sep 08, 2006 07:04am

Thank you sir! I know where to go for the correct scoop..

Junker Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:32pm

I've never had this situation happen yet, but I think if I know a coach is out of TO's when he requests it, I would remind him that he is out and if he still wants it, I would grant the TO and T. If he keeps doing it (I've never seen or heard of this in my area), go with the travesty, get a cold one a little earlier. I can't see that totally ignoring the request would be good game management.

Jurassic Referee Fri Sep 08, 2006 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Junker
I've never had this situation happen yet, but I think if I know a coach is out of TO's when he requests it, I would remind him that he is out and if he still wants it, I would grant the TO and T.

Do you really believe that officials should hand out unfair advantages?

If you remind the coach and he then says forget the TO, you're screwing the other team out of the 2 FT's and possession that they had coming to them because their opposing coach wasn't doing his job properly.

Personally, I prefer to stay neutral. You know, call it both ways...two teams out there....that kinda thingy. That's just me though.:) Jmo, but I think that you walk a very slippery line out on the court sometimes if you try to be Mr. Nice Guy Official.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1