The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I'm not sure if this is a technical foul or not. Rule 10-3-4 says that "a player shall not grasp either basket during the time of the official's jurisdiction...". I can not find anyplace in Rule 4 where the "basket" is defined. Rule 4-6-1 says it is basket interference when a player "touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket."

My take on it is that since the rules committee put "including the net" in parentheses in 4-6-1, then the net is normally not considered a part of the basket, and therefore it is not a technical foul to grab the net.

In the original post I think the correct call is basket interference. Since the ball went in then no call is correct, but I really don't think the rules support a technical foul in this situation. Anyone have any other thoughts?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BB situation Shmuelg Baseball 6 Wed Apr 06, 2005 09:24am
Situation Roger Bridges Softball 47 Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am
OOB situation IURef Basketball 6 Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm
TO situation ChuckElias Basketball 21 Wed Dec 04, 2002 08:54pm
No Win Situation???? Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Sat Jun 23, 2001 06:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1