The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   help with over & back play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/27278-help-over-back-play.html)

zac Fri Jun 30, 2006 03:05pm

help with over & back play
 
A1 in the front court passes to A2, B1 tips the pass to the backcourt. A3 recovers the ball in the backcourt--my partner called over and back. Since the pass was tipped by B1 I thought it was OK for A3 to recover--was I right or did my partner call it correct?

IREFU2 Fri Jun 30, 2006 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zac
A1 in the front court passes to A2, B1 tips the pass to the backcourt. A3 recovers the ball in the backcourt--my partner called over and back. Since the pass was tipped by B1 I thought it was OK for A3 to recover--was I right or did my partner call it correct?

If B1 touched the ball then A3 can recover it. Even if the ball is touched (not controlled), it can still be recovered by A3. You have to have had control of the ball for it to be back court.

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Jun 30, 2006 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
If B1 touched the ball then A3 can recover it. Even if the ball is touched (not controlled), it can still be recovered by A3. You have to have had control of the ball for it to be back court.

Almost right. Actually, if B1 was the last to touch it in the front court, or the first to touch it in the back court A3 is okay to recover it. But if B1 tipped it off A2 while in the front, and then A3 went in the back and recovered it, that would be a violation.

BktBallRef Fri Jun 30, 2006 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
Even if the ball is touched (not controlled), it can still be recovered by A3.

Explain please. :confused:

sphinxicu Fri Jun 30, 2006 04:45pm

Control
 
I will join in the discussion, if that is okay. When the last poster stated that "if B1 tipped the ball off A2" or words to that affect, he was referring to team control. Team A in the front court still is in control until they either attempt a try, or Team B clearly secures control or a dead ball situation occurs. So if Team B merely tips the ball, they have not secured control and if the tip touches a Team A member and then goes into the backcourt, then Team A members can not be the first to touch it in backcourt without it being a backcourt violation. I am referring to Chapter 4 Section 12; Art 3 and 4 of HS Rule book and Chapter 4, Sect 13, Art 3 of the NCAA Rulebook.

Michael

BktBallRef Fri Jun 30, 2006 05:37pm

Well aware of that, Michael. I'm simply asking IREFU2 what he meant by his statment.

IREFU2 Sun Jul 02, 2006 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Explain please. :confused:

SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Doesnt seem like there was team control.

Jurassic Referee Sun Jul 02, 2006 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Doesnt seem like there was team control.

Wrong, team control by team A isn't lost until team B gains player control, the ball becomes dead, or team A takes a shot. NFHS rule 4-12-3. A B player touching the ball does not mean that team A will lose team control.

BktBallRef Sun Jul 02, 2006 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Doesnt seem like there was team control.


Yes there was. ;)

TADW_Elessar Mon Jul 03, 2006 03:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IREFU2
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Doesnt seem like there was team control.

There was team control indeed.
But team control is not the only requisite... ;)

drothamel Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:31pm

Quote:

Visit my Latin Blog:
www.latinblog.org

[email protected]
I know this is WAY off topic, but I think the topic has been adquately covered (i.e A3 should have been permitted to recover the ball in the back court due to the touch by B1).

I just wanted to note that TADW's Latin Blog is quite impressive. I took 4 years of Latin in college, but to have a whole blog in Latin . . .WOW.

Nothing like using the ol' defibrilator on a dead language!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1