The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/2709-throw-violation.html)

bogref_jed Wed Jul 25, 2001 01:25am

A1 at the end line, threw a fast break to his teammate who is in the frontcourt. Because he was in a hurry to throw the ball, his body carried him inside the court while the ball is still in the air. Please take note that A1 when he released the ball, he was completely out-of-bounds.

Question:

Is there violation committed or advantage by A1 under the latest rules of FIBA?

Thank you,

BOGRef



Brian Watson Wed Jul 25, 2001 07:01am

Bo don't know FIBA, but would really hope this is not a violation.

Where are our Oz and Canuck freinds? Tme for them to shine.

JeffRef Wed Jul 25, 2001 07:47am

This is not a violation.

FIBA 26.4 Rule

26.4.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:
• Touch the ball on the court before it has touched another player.
• Step on the court before or whilst releasing the ball.
• Take more than five (5) seconds to release the ball.
• Whilst releasing, cause the ball to touch out-of-bounds without
being touched inbounds by a player.
• Cause the ball to enter the basket directly.
• Move a distance of more than one (1) metre laterally nor move
in more than one direction from the place designated by the
official before or whilst releasing the ball. It is, however,
permitted to move backwards and perpendicular to the line as
far as circumstances allow.



BktBallRef Wed Jul 25, 2001 09:34am

For the safe of discussion, this would be a violation under NF rules if it happened during a spot throw-in.

Whether it would be called or not is a different story.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 25, 2001 10:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
For the safe of discussion, this would be a violation under NF rules if it happened during a spot throw-in.

Whether it would be called or not is a different story.

I disagree, Tony. The inbounder released the ball, then entered the court. This is legal.

mick Wed Jul 25, 2001 10:10am

it happens a lot.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
For the safe of discussion, this would be a violation under NF rules if it happened during a spot throw-in.

Whether it would be called or not is a different story.

I disagree, Tony. The inbounder released the ball, then entered the court. This is legal.

Yer right, Bob.
So many times on an endline throw-in after a score, we see the thrower step OOB with one foot , lift the other off the floor (but still inside the plane) and pass the ball inbounds.
mick

Kelvin green Wed Jul 25, 2001 10:12am

I agree with Bob. No violation.

How many times do we make the players go all the way OOB they grab the ball after a made basket have one foot OOB pick up the other foot and throw the ball in?

In fact if I remember right a few years ago it was a violation for the player OOB to release the ball while breaking the plane, and that was removed, so that now if a player is throwing the ball and crosses the plane, the defense can take it, or tie the OOB player up.

I dont have a rule book in front of me but I dont think there is any provision about having the body behind the OOB plane. The only violation may occur if the player jumped and was not over the designated spot. After a made basket I think there would be no prohibiton.

Mark Padgett Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:08pm

NF 7-6-2 states the thrower cannot leave the designated spot until the ball is released on the throw-in. Generally, this is interpreted as having one foot on or over the spot until release.

BTW - leave it to FEEBLE (FIBA) to use a word like "whilst".

mick Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
NF 7-6-2 states the thrower cannot leave the designated spot until the ball is released on the throw-in. Generally, this is interpreted as having one foot on or over the spot until release.

BTW - leave it to FEEBLE (FIBA) to use a word like "whilst".

Excellent point with regard to the whole body being in bounds but not touching the floor.
mick

JeffRef Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:37pm

BTW - leave it to FEEBLE (FIBA) to use a word like "whilst". [/B][/QUOTE]

Are you trying to start another war? :)

Mark...you're from the west coast...ever work with or hear of Joe Thompson, Joe Jarvie, Buddy Horton, or Bill Crowley?

BktBallRef Wed Jul 25, 2001 04:48pm

Semantics guys. If he leaves the spot before he releases the ball, it's a violation. If he's still over the spot it's not. I read it that he had left the spot before the ball was released. If that's not what happended, no violation, no big deal.

Sheesh.

mick Wed Jul 25, 2001 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Semantics guys. If he leaves the spot before he releases the ball, it's a violation. If he's still over the spot it's not. I read it that he had left the spot before the ball was released. If that's not what happended, no violation, no big deal.

Sheesh.

I can see that... now.
Yeah, you were right!
mick

BktBallRef Wed Jul 25, 2001 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick

I can see that... now.
Yeah, you were right!
mick

Thank you mick!

TH

PS- I'm setting you up for your 1000th post!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1