![]() |
Would you ever call this BC
This happened to me on Saturday.
Jump ball to start the game, A1 gains control of the tap with a dribble in his FC. But is so near the center line, and heading that direction that he crosses over into BC. It is a clear-cut BC violation. However, it happens within less than a second from the tap and while the typical post-jump confusion and muddle going on (i.e., players trying to get sorted out and moving in the right direction). What do you think, call or no-call? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
If you do not call this (and everyone clearly saw it) now every other call is going to be in question. It is one thing to call a minor or suspect violation, but this is a no-brainer. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-15-1 . . . A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. 4-15-3 . . . The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. Of course, you have the following rules support on your side: 4-15-4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. So what is the difference between a bat and a slap? :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
ART. 3 . . . The jump ball begins when the ball leaves the referee's hand(s) and ends when the touched ball contacts a nonjumper, the floor, a basket or backboard. The jump ball ends the very instant the dribbler contacts the tapped ball, does it not? Then following through with a batting or slapping motion becomes part of the next play? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Otherwise we are back to judging player control. A player can slap or bat a ball prior to establishing player control following the jump, right? And that slap or bat doesn't have to constitute a dribble. So I'd say that like most aspects of basketball officiating this call comes down to the official's judgment. If you believed that there was player control and hence a dribble, as you put in your original post, then I believe that you are honor-bound to call the violation. However, if you truly believe that the player had not yet established control, then you should leave it alone. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm. |