![]() |
backcourt violation
When player A advances the ball with a dribble, he gets to the midcourt line and straddles the line. He receives defensive pressure and goes to the backcourt to then continue advancing the ball to the frontcourt.
Is this a backcourt violation as he was not completely into the front court when he moved sideways and backwards into the backcourt and then on to the frontcourt? Is the violation related to the relationship of the midcourt line to the ball, to the player's foot or to both feet? Is the line itself in the frontcourt or the backcourt? What if he only touches a part of midcourt line and does not go completely over the line? Thanks. |
Quote:
Note that this applies only to a player dribbling the ball. The rules citation is NFHS rule 4-4-6. IAABO rules may differ.......:D |
Quote:
All 3 points, both feet and the ball must be in the FC before FC status is achieved. If he steps back into the BC or bounces the ball in the BC after all 3 points are in the FC, it's a violation. When a player is holding the ball, we're only concerned with the feet. The division line "plane" is not an issue. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
All three points must touch the FC consecutively or simultaneously. If they get left foot front, right foot front, dribble back, dribble back, right foot back, dribble front....it doesn't count. They've never reached the front court. |
Quote:
If If they get left foot front, right foot front, dribble back, dribble back, right foot back, dribble front....then all three are not in the FC. :) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53am. |