The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Block or Charge?

IM Championship Game on Thursday Night. I am C, table side. Deep 3-point FG by A1 hits the back of the rim and leads to the rebound coming all the way out to approximately the 3-point line. B1 jumps high to get the rebound, and in the process of getting the rebound, begins to turn in the air so that he can begin a fast break going the other way. As he is getting the rebound, A2 sets himself to take a charge as B1 comes down. B1 turns while in the air, has his first foot hit the ground, and then the crash occurs. I immediately came with a block, and explained to the defender that he never allowed the rebounder the opportunity to fully come down on the court. I know this may be one of those "had to be there" plays, but what does everyone think?
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 04:19pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
IM Championship Game on Thursday Night. I am C, table side. Deep 3-point FG by A1 hits the back of the rim and leads to the rebound coming all the way out to approximately the 3-point line. B1 jumps high to get the rebound, and in the process of getting the rebound, begins to turn in the air so that he can begin a fast break going the other way. As he is getting the rebound, A2 sets himself to take a charge as B1 comes down. B1 turns while in the air, has his first foot hit the ground, and then the crash occurs. I immediately came with a block, and explained to the defender that he never allowed the rebounder the opportunity to fully come down on the court. I know this may be one of those "had to be there" plays, but what does everyone think?

CHARGE!! The instand B1 came in the contact with the floor, A2 had obtained/established legal guarding position. Time and distance does not apply to this situation. You will find at least one casebook play in the NFHS Casebook that covers this type of play. The NFHS Casebook play is also applicable to NCAA Men's/Women's rules.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
I agree with Mark, at least as explained.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
OK, then would I be correct in assuming that if contact occurred while the rebounder was in the air we would have a block? And not to be a nit-pick, but what if it is simultaneous? The play was that close that simultaneous could be argued....
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
tmp, if the foot landing/contact is simultaneous, I've got a block.

If A1 returns to the floor with one foot and then charges, I've got a charge.

If there's any doubt in my mind as to whether the foot land or contact came first, I've got a block. Why? Because B1 has placed himself at a disadvantage be taking this position. He's not playing defense.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2006, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Did the defender give him room to come down or did he undercut the rebounder? I couldn't tell from your description.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CHARGE OR BLOCK 2nd RUBIERA Basketball 2 Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:00pm
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm
Block/Charge drinkeii Basketball 16 Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am
Block??/Charge?? Ron Pilo Basketball 9 Mon Dec 27, 1999 10:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1