The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block or Charge? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/26185-block-charge.html)

tmp44 Sat Apr 22, 2006 03:45pm

Block or Charge?
 
IM Championship Game on Thursday Night. I am C, table side. Deep 3-point FG by A1 hits the back of the rim and leads to the rebound coming all the way out to approximately the 3-point line. B1 jumps high to get the rebound, and in the process of getting the rebound, begins to turn in the air so that he can begin a fast break going the other way. As he is getting the rebound, A2 sets himself to take a charge as B1 comes down. B1 turns while in the air, has his first foot hit the ground, and then the crash occurs. I immediately came with a block, and explained to the defender that he never allowed the rebounder the opportunity to fully come down on the court. I know this may be one of those "had to be there" plays, but what does everyone think?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Apr 22, 2006 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmp44
IM Championship Game on Thursday Night. I am C, table side. Deep 3-point FG by A1 hits the back of the rim and leads to the rebound coming all the way out to approximately the 3-point line. B1 jumps high to get the rebound, and in the process of getting the rebound, begins to turn in the air so that he can begin a fast break going the other way. As he is getting the rebound, A2 sets himself to take a charge as B1 comes down. B1 turns while in the air, has his first foot hit the ground, and then the crash occurs. I immediately came with a block, and explained to the defender that he never allowed the rebounder the opportunity to fully come down on the court. I know this may be one of those "had to be there" plays, but what does everyone think?


CHARGE!! The instand B1 came in the contact with the floor, A2 had obtained/established legal guarding position. Time and distance does not apply to this situation. You will find at least one casebook play in the NFHS Casebook that covers this type of play. The NFHS Casebook play is also applicable to NCAA Men's/Women's rules.

MTD, Sr.

Texas Aggie Sat Apr 22, 2006 05:23pm

I agree with Mark, at least as explained.

tmp44 Sat Apr 22, 2006 05:38pm

OK, then would I be correct in assuming that if contact occurred while the rebounder was in the air we would have a block? And not to be a nit-pick, but what if it is simultaneous? The play was that close that simultaneous could be argued....

BktBallRef Sat Apr 22, 2006 06:39pm

tmp, if the foot landing/contact is simultaneous, I've got a block.

If A1 returns to the floor with one foot and then charges, I've got a charge.

If there's any doubt in my mind as to whether the foot land or contact came first, I've got a block. Why? Because B1 has placed himself at a disadvantage be taking this position. He's not playing defense.

refnrev Sat Apr 22, 2006 06:51pm

Did the defender give him room to come down or did he undercut the rebounder? I couldn't tell from your description.:cool:

JRutledge Sat Apr 22, 2006 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
Did the defender give him room to come down or did he undercut the rebounder? I couldn't tell from your description.:cool:

Would that matter if all the defender was doing is standing still the entire time? Everyone is allowed their place on the floor.

Peace

refnrev Sat Apr 22, 2006 07:17pm

That depends. Was he standing still in LPG or was he standing still after he undercut him? That would make a huge difference.

tmp44 Sat Apr 22, 2006 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
That depends. Was he standing still in LPG or was he standing still after he undercut him? That would make a huge difference.


The defender established his position AFTER the rebounder went into the air to grab the ball.

JRutledge Sat Apr 22, 2006 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
That depends. Was he standing still in LPG or was he standing still after he undercut him? That would make a huge difference.

I agree with you there, but you said "give him a place to land." You never have to give someone a place to land if you have established LGP. Either way this is one of those "you would have to see it" types of plays. We can all talk about what we would call, but seeing it is where we make out money.

Peace

refnrev Sat Apr 22, 2006 08:25pm

As Rut said well, you'd have to see it to make the final judgement, but based on what you've said I'm going with Mark's explanation and the call the charge.

JRutledge Sat Apr 22, 2006 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by refnrev
As Rut said well, you'd have to see it to make the final judgement, but based on what you've said I'm going with Mark's explanation and the call the charge.

I agree with that position as well.

Peace

canuckrefguy Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:03pm

I don't think I'd wager a verdict on this one without seeing it first. :confused:

crazy voyager Sun Apr 23, 2006 10:43am

this is a charge with one exception.

If the jumper took off and the defender moved in where he was landing (that can be the same place he took of, OR the place where his movment is taking him e.g if you jump forward you'll offcourse land on a spot forward from the take off)
If the defender moved in the jumpers "to be cylinder" at the landing spot it is a block (it could even be an unsportsmanlike) in other cases the jumper has landed and simply runs down the defender- Charge

I heard a really good comment on this a few days ago
The man with the ball is like a person driving a car. He has the right to be on the way, but if a pedestrian walks in the way, you're not gonna drive him over, you turn the wheel. If a defender moves in your way, you have to move around him.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1