Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
About rule 10.1.8, Thanks for typing it out, Tony. I neglected to consider that some on this board would be at a disadvantage without the text written out. I see what you mean about it not being a referee error, but what about other times when the "mistake" is a player problem, like...
okay give me a day or two, here, I need to process.
|
While I'm waiting, I'll make a point. The only time you can correct the wrong team inbounding the ball is when the official doesn't hand the ball to the player. in other words, if you put the ball on the floorsand start your count and B1 picks it up, you can blow the whistle and stop the play. If the ball is bouncing around after a basket and the team that scored attempts to inbound it, you can stop the play. Why? Because these aren't mistakes made by an official. They are "player mistakes." Is that what you're looking for?
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
The purpose of the play is irrelevent as to why it's in the casebook. The reason it's in there is because someone on the NF rules committee had it happen in a game and didn't know what to do, so he made up a specific penalty in case it happened to him again, so he could say "AHA, Gotcha". This is how most cases get into the book.
|
I already said that!
And I'm not even going to start a discussion about the meaning of "esoteric!"