![]() |
Please respond to this situation using MEN'S COLLEGE RULES:
A1 dunks the ball and illegally hangs on the rim. A1 is given a technical foul. The scorers inform the officials that A1 had four fouls prior to the technical and want to know if the technical counts toward A1's disqualification. What is the proper procedure? (Remember: Use MEN's College Rules) --TGR |
In NF rules he is gone. Under NCAA he is not. It is a combination of 5 personal fouls and unsportsmanlike Technicals.
[This message has been edited by Tim Roden (edited January 12, 2000).] |
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tim Roden on 01-12-2000 02:59 PM
In NF rules he is gone. Under NCAA he is not. It is a combination of 5 personal fouls and unsportsmanlike Technicals. [This message has been edited by Tim Roden (edited January 12, 2000).]<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> Tim, Why wouldn't "Hanging" be unsportsmanlike like taunting? mick |
This is a disqualification as the dunk happened during the course of play and not during pre-game or half-time warm-ups.
|
We are supposed to be using NCAA rules, and by doing so, this is only a "T" towards the player, and IT DOES NOT COUNT towards his 5 fouls. It is under rule 10/3/F or G, and then under the penalty part.
|
Dennis and others who responded,
If, in fact, the "T" for hanging on the rim is a noncontact technical foul that doesn't count toward disqualification of the player, I wonder what the reasoning behind this rule originally was. Simply, why the exception? Thanks for all comments/replies. --TGR |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm. |