![]() |
Hey guys,
Here is the situation: Team A has the ball, they make a basket, and after the made basket, Team A tries to call timeout. Should the timeout be granted, or not? Where in the rule book is this covered? Thanks in advance! - Joey |
By the way, I'm talking about high school rules. Also, would it matter if a player from Team B grabs the basketball before Team A signals for timeout?
|
Quote:
Team A may be granted a timeout up until Team B has the ball at their disposal. The best way to think of it is if the official has started his/her count then Team A cannot be granted a timeout. [Edited by All_Heart on Mar 17th, 2006 at 09:49 PM] |
Thanks for clearing that up! Have a good weekend.
|
Team A can call a time out up to the time that B has the ball at their disposal...the same time that you start counting the 5 second count. For most, that is when B has the ball OOB and is in a position to make a throwin. Some advocate that A can no longer call a timeout once B picks up the ball (even while still inbounds). However, I'd bet that none of those start their 5 count at that moment.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34pm. |