The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25432-backcourt-violation.html)

joencali Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:19am

While defending A1, B1 taps the ball towards the backcourt. When A1 attempts to gain control of the tapped ball, A1 touches the ball near the center division line in the frontcourt, however, his momentum carries him into the backcourt where he secures his dribble. Is this a backcourt violation?

BktBallRef Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:33am

Yes, it is. It makes no difference whether whether the defender touches the ball or not. It's a matter of who last touches the ball before it enters the BC.

readingofficial Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:34pm

Yes backcourt, last to touch , first to touch

RUBIERA Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:17pm

But when B1 tapped the ball, nobody has control, so there is not team control, for it to be a backcourt.

Just like in the inbound there is not team control and that sict can happen and is not a back court violation.

That is what I think. I migh be mistaken.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 10, 2006 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
But when B1 tapped the ball, nobody has control, so there is not team control, for it to be a backcourt.

Just like in the inbound there is not team control and that sict can happen and is not a back court violation.

That is what I think. I migh be mistaken.

You would be mistaken. Team A, having had control prior to the tap, retains control until one of three things happen: B secures control, A shoots, the ball becomes dead.

refTN Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:50pm

Is it a backcourt violation taking the scenario above and putting it in a college game with team A inbounding, because there is team control on an inbounding play in college, right?

BktBallRef Fri Mar 10, 2006 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
Is it a backcourt violation taking the scenario above and putting it in a college game with team A inbounding, because there is team control on an inbounding play in college, right?
No. My understanding is that team control exists for the purpose of a team control foul but the same exceptions still exist.

ChuckElias Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:05am

Tony's correct. No surprise there.

joencali Sat Mar 11, 2006 01:47pm

Thanks everyone. I'm just disappointed that I got this call wrong.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 11, 2006 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
But when B1 tapped the ball, nobody has control, so there is not team control, for it to be a backcourt.

Just like in the inbound there is not team control and that sict can happen and is not a back court violation.

That is what I think. I migh be mistaken.

I believe that this is the way the NBA does it. Team control ends on a defensive bat. College and HS do not have this rule. That is likely the source of much misunderstanding at the HS level.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1