The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Direct and Indirect Technical Fouls (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25423-direct-indirect-technical-fouls.html)

JRutledge Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:58pm

Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

tjones1 Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:03pm

10-5-3 Note 2

Edit: To answer your question, yes, the coach is ejected.

BktBallRef Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:08pm

10-4 Note
A single flagrant foul or the second technical foul charged to any bench personnel, other than the head coach, results in disqualification of the offender. The third technical foul, the second direct technical foul or a single flagrant foul charged to the head coach results in disqualification and ejection.

Snake~eyes Fri Mar 10, 2006 01:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)
Tell them to pay up.

just another ref Fri Mar 10, 2006 01:48am

So what was the bet? and who won?

Nevadaref Fri Mar 10, 2006 04:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

Which rules?
NCAA or NFHS

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 10, 2006 07:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

Which rules?
NCAA or NFHS

Good point.

Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6

Dan_ref Fri Mar 10, 2006 10:14am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

Which rules?
NCAA or NFHS

Good point.

Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6

Other than the terms (direct vs indirect) how is this different from the nfhs rules?


Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

Which rules?
NCAA or NFHS

Good point.

Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6

Other than the terms (direct vs indirect) how is this different from the nfhs rules?


What is this? A freaking exam?

No wonder Woody don't like you......

Well, just off the top of my head, and bearing in mind that I ain't an NCAA rules guru, if a player dunks the ball in pre-game, I believe that his head coach does get charged with that indirect "T" also, but that indirect "T" <b>doesn't</b> count as one of the 3 that count towards his ejection, as it does in high school.

True?

SmokeEater Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:19am

Rule 10-4 does not make any mention about

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
that indirect "T" <b>doesn't</b> count as one of the 3 that count towards his ejection [/B]
It does say that the Indirect does not count toward the players 5 or team totals.

Dan_ref Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Give me a rules reference please.

Can you eject a head coach from a game with a combination of direct and indirect technical fouls? For example, if a coach has one direct and two indirect technical fouls to his/her credit, does that constitute an ejection from the game?

I am asking this to solve a bet. ;)

Peace

Which rules?
NCAA or NFHS

Good point.

Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6

Other than the terms (direct vs indirect) how is this different from the nfhs rules?


What is this? A freaking exam?

No wonder Woody don't like you......

Well, just off the top of my head, and bearing in mind that I ain't an NCAA rules guru, if a player dunks the ball in pre-game, I believe that his head coach does get charged with that indirect "T" also, but that indirect "T" <b>doesn't</b> count as one of the 3 that count towards his ejection, as it does in high school.

True?

Well, no.

And Woody likes me just fine thank you very much.

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6
Other than the terms (direct vs indirect) how is this different from the nfhs rules?

Well, just off the top of my head, and bearing in mind that I ain't an NCAA rules guru, if a player dunks the ball in pre-game, I believe that his head coach does get charged with that indirect "T" also, but that indirect "T" <b>doesn't</b> count as one of the 3 that count towards his ejection, as it does in high school.

True? [/B]
Well, no.

[/B][/QUOTE]Then...how about a defensive player knocking the ball out of the thrower's hands, as per 10-3-20&AR8? That's a direct "T" in FED. In NCAA, it's an indirect "T", but doesn't the head coach also get charged with indirect "T"?....and.....that indirect "T" charged to the head coach <b>doesn't</b> apply to the 3 needed for buh-bye?

Huh? Huh?

Dan_ref Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Under NCAA rules, a coach is ejected when:
1) he gets 2 direct "T"s.
2) he gets 3 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.
3) he gets 1 direct "T" and 2 bench direct "T"s charged to his team.

NCAA rule 10-10-6
Other than the terms (direct vs indirect) how is this different from the nfhs rules?

Well, just off the top of my head, and bearing in mind that I ain't an NCAA rules guru, if a player dunks the ball in pre-game, I believe that his head coach does get charged with that indirect "T" also, but that indirect "T" <b>doesn't</b> count as one of the 3 that count towards his ejection, as it does in high school.

True?
Well, no.

[/B]
Then...how about a defensive player knocking the ball out of the thrower's hands, as per 10-3-20&AR8? That's a direct "T" in FED. In NCAA, it's an indirect "T", but doesn't the head coach also get charged with indirect "T"?....and.....that indirect "T" charged to the head coach <b>doesn't</b> apply to the 3 needed for buh-bye?

Huh? Huh? [/B][/QUOTE]

Does this get charged to the head coach as an indirect under nfhs? I didn't think so, maybe I'm wrong.

(btw, my original question is genuine. What difference does it make to the OP's question if the rules are ncaa or nfhs, as you & nevada posted. And if you keep pestering me like this I'm gonna grab my uzi & hunt you down.)

rockyroad Fri Mar 10, 2006 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
, And if you keep pestering me like this I'm gonna grab my uzi & hunt you down.)

Now THAT I would pay to see!!

And it really doesn't make any difference - JR was just being his normal anal-retentive self and making sure he quoted the rules to answer the question...why he can't be like the rest of us and just make stuff up as he goes, I don't know - but hey, that's why he's JR!

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 10, 2006 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Then...how about a defensive player knocking the ball out of the thrower's hands, as per 10-3-20&AR8? That's a direct "T" in FED. In NCAA, it's an indirect "T", but doesn't the head coach also get charged with indirect "T"?....and.....that indirect "T" charged to the head coach <b>doesn't</b> apply to the 3 needed for buh-bye?

Huh? Huh? [/B]
Does this get charged to the head coach as an indirect under nfhs? I didn't think so, maybe I'm wrong.

What difference does it make to the OP's question if the rules are ncaa or nfhs, as you & nevada posted. [/B][/QUOTE]No, on this play an indirect "T" doesn't get charged to the head coach under NFHS rules. However, under NCAA rules, an indirect "T" <b>does</b> get charged to the head coach.

Also, under NFHS, <b>all</b> indirect "T"s charged to a head coach count towards his ejection. But, under NCAA rules, this particular indirect "T" charged to the head coach <b>doesn't</b> count towards his ejection.

And that's how NFHS and NCAA rules differ....

http://www.gifs.net/other/crit_suc.gif
Iow, <i>"nanny nanny boo boo"</i>

Aggravating l'il azzhole, ain't I?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1