The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timing Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/254-timing-question.html)

TGR Wed Jan 12, 2000 05:53pm

Try this one (Use FEDERATION RULES):
Team A inbounds the ball with four seconds left in the half. A1 throws a long pass down court that strikes a rope hanging from the ceiling. One official, who saw it hit the rope, blows his whistle. The timer allows the clock to run out and the horn sounds. When the officials converse, the calling official is certain that two seconds remained when he blew his whistle. What is the proper procedure in respect to time on the clock and the placement of ball for the throw-in? Remember: Use Federation Rules.
--TGR

bob jenkins Wed Jan 12, 2000 06:01pm

2 seconds when whistle, less one second for lag time equals 1 second on the clock.

Note that if the question was "after the official whistled s/he looked at the clock and saw two seconds..." then we'd put 2 seconds on the clock.

Cases 2.14.1B and 2.14.1D

Joe Bob Wed Jan 12, 2000 10:42pm

If you have definite knowledge of time on the clock then put that time back on. @ seconds would be well within the boundries of the official.

bjbbau Thu Jan 13, 2000 12:04am

If there was no contact of the ball inbounds then the clock should have not started at all. Therefore there should be 4 seconds on the clock.

mick Thu Jan 13, 2000 10:42am

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by bjbbau on 01-12-2000 11:04 PM
If there was no contact of the ball inbounds then the clock should have not started at all. Therefore there should be 4 seconds on the clock.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

AGREED
mick


TGR Thu Jan 13, 2000 11:47am

I'm sorry guys. Based on the replies, I see that I really didn't give you the proper situation. Just goes to show you that proper wording is essential. With that being stated, let's say that in the original question A2 passed the ball in to A1 and the clock was properly started.

mick Thu Jan 13, 2000 02:07pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TGR on 01-13-2000 10:47 AM
I'm sorry guys. Based on the replies, I see that I really didn't give you the proper situation. Just goes to show you that proper wording is essential. With that being stated, let's say that in the original question A2 passed the ball in to A1 and the clock was properly started.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Then go to the answers of Bob and JoeBob.
mick



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1