The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is it ever legal to slap the ball out of an inbounders hands? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25266-ever-legal-slap-ball-out-inbounders-hands.html)

thereluctantref Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:06pm

Is it legal for a defender to slap the ball out of the hands of an inbounder if the ball breaks the imaginary out of bounds line plane? This happened last season when I was refereeing and I was looking for a definitive answer but didn't get one online. My partner and I gave a warning to the defender who slapped the ball out of the inbounder's hands and then gave a technical when she did it again. The coach argued and asked us if it were okay to hit the ball away if the ball broke the plane of the out of bounds line. We said it was never okay but then I read about it later and had second thoughts...(when I reflected about this situation, the point was moot because the inbounder didn't let the ball break the plane; I think the coach was just trying to give us a hard time...)

Oz Referee Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:11pm

Even if the inbounder uses the ball to make contact with the defender, it is still a violation by the defender - regardless of whether the ball crosses the plane of the line or not.

BktBallRef Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thereluctantref
Is it legal for a defender to slap the ball out of the hands of an inbounder if the ball breaks the imaginary out of bounds line plane? This happened last season when I was refereeing and I was looking for a definitive answer but didn't get one online. My partner and I gave a warning to the defender who slapped the ball out of the inbounder's hands and then gave a technical when she did it again. The coach argued and asked us if it were okay to hit the ball away if the ball broke the plane of the out of bounds line. We said it was never okay but then I read about it later and had second thoughts...(when I reflected about this situation, the point was moot because the inbounder didn't let the ball break the plane; I think the coach was just trying to give us a hard time...)
Oz is quoting FIBA rules, so ignore his posts with regards to NFHS.

Yes, it's legal to bat, touch or grab the ball if the thrower extends it through the boundary plane.

thereluctantref Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:20pm

Thanks so much for the clarification. Now, if ever the freaky thing ever happens in a game, I'll have to take the heat from fans and coaches about the call! Do you ever initiate clarifications to coaches or does the coach have to wait for a time out to ask for one? Should you ever try to clarify a call to an irate coach?

Oz Referee Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Oz is quoting FIBA rules, so ignore his posts with regards to NFHS.

Yes, it's legal to bat, touch or grab the ball if the thrower extends it through the boundary plane. [/B]
So how does this work? A4 is inbounding the ball, and holds the ball over the plane of the line. Standing inbounds, B5 grabs the ball. Wouldn't this mean that A4 is now standing out of bounds and touching the ball, therefore it is now Team B's inbounds? Is this right?

deecee Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:30pm

you could do that
 
or if the swipe was fast enough just let b keep possession -- teach A a lesson

BktBallRef Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Oz is quoting FIBA rules, so ignore his posts with regards to NFHS.

Yes, it's legal to bat, touch or grab the ball if the thrower extends it through the boundary plane.
So how does this work? A4 is inbounding the ball, and holds the ball over the plane of the line. Standing inbounds, B5 grabs the ball. Wouldn't this mean that A4 is now standing out of bounds and touching the ball, therefore it is now Team B's inbounds? Is this right? [/B]
No. A4 is legally OOB. As long as he is holding the ball, he can't be called for causing it to go OOB. If the defender grabs it, it's a held ball. If he knocks it lkoose, it's a matter of where it lands.

Jurassic Referee Wed Mar 01, 2006 06:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thereluctantref
Thanks so much for the clarification. Now, if ever the freaky thing ever happens in a game, I'll have to take the heat from fans and coaches about the call! Do you ever initiate clarifications to coaches or does the coach have to wait for a time out to ask for one? Should you ever try to clarify a call to an irate coach?
You can give a very quick explanation to the coach as long as you're not slowing down the game. If he asks you during a time-out, yeah, give him an explanation. Never explain if no one is asking.

Btw, see NFHS case book play 7.6.3. That's your rules citation.

jeffpea Thu Mar 02, 2006 02:19pm

If defender reaches across OOB line but does not make contact with thrower or ball - warning (2nd occurence is T).

If defender reaches across OOB line and makes contact w/ thrower or ball - T.

If thrower holds ball across OOB line into court, then ball is fair game; steal, jump ball, etc. (no penalty on defender).

See previous rule/case book citation.

Raymond Thu Mar 02, 2006 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jeffpea

If defender reaches across OOB line and makes contact w/ thrower or ball - T.


T, and constitutes warning, if defender reaches across OOB and contacts ball.

Intentional foul, and constitutes warning, if defender reaches across OOB and contacts thrower.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1