The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Does Anyone Do "Makeup Calls"? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25201-does-anyone-do-makeup-calls.html)

IdahoRef Sat Feb 25, 2006 02:47pm

Do any of you do makeup calls when you have made a bad call? I'm curious what you guys do when you know that you missed or made a terrible call?

I'm in my first year officiating and if I'm in that scenario, I just keep calling them like I see them. I surely don't want to penalize someone unfairly for MY mistake.

How about you guys?

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2006 03:12pm

Never do a "make-up" call. And don't listen to the tv announcers when they say a given call was a "make-up" call for the last call the refs missed. 9 tims out of 10, that earlier call was right.

Bottom line, your missed calls will likely even out in the end, so don't go trying to make up for them.

Mark Padgett Sat Feb 25, 2006 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IdahoRef
I'm curious what you guys do when you know that you missed or made a terrible call?

If it ever happens, I'll let you know.

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2006 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

I'm curious what you guys do when you know that you missed or made a terrible call?

Yeah, I've heard that Padgett has never missed a terrible call.

CaliOne Sat Feb 25, 2006 08:23pm

I worked with a partner who, after my T on team A, called a quick ticky tack foul on team B the very next possession. Im my mind, it seemed like he was giving a "make up call" for my T. That drives me NUTS!

Kostja Sat Feb 25, 2006 09:45pm

Don't let one mistake become two! No makeup calls!!!

JRutledge Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:29pm

In one word.

NO.

Peace

tjones1 Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:43pm