![]() |
A1 drives to the basket, B1 steps in front. The Lead calls charge and the Center calls block. The classic BLARGE. Is possesion determined by the arrow?
|
Yes. Count it if it goes.
|
Quote:
|
NO.
High School: The play is dead if the ball is in the players hands. You then go to point of interruption and give the ball back to the offense at the spot of the foul. If the ball is in the air then I believe you wave off the basket. But I'm not sure about this. You would then go to AP Arrow. College: AP Arrow & Reset shot clock. |
Quote:
|
Hoop is not good.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In HS, you would then let the opponents of the team that just scored have a throw-in anywhere along the endline. In NCAA, you would go to the arrow. |
Quote:
|
In HS the ball is dead. No hoop because of player control foul. Shooter will get two shots because of the blocking foul and you play off the 2nd shot.
|
Case Book 6.7.4. I stand corrected on the lane being occupied. No on the lane. B ball after make or miss/designated/endline to run.
|
Quote:
The case is 4.19.8 Situation C. [Edited by ChuckElias on Feb 23rd, 2006 at 02:38 PM] |
I think case book play 6.7.4 covers it.
|
Quote:
Look at 4.19.8 Situation C. Please. You will be convinced. I promise. |
Thanks Chuck, I do stand corrected. Thats why I love this forum. Makes you get into the book!
|
wfd21, Here is the situation taken directly from the casebook. The basket is good, there are no free throws, and play is resumed at POI. Hope this helps.
Basketball NFHS Casebook Rule 4 4.19.8-C Double Fouls *SITUATION: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try and the goal is scored. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am. |