The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "Reaching" Sitch--Whatcha got? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/25155-reaching-sitch-whatcha-got.html)

mplagrow Fri Feb 24, 2006 07:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
What is it about the arm contact that is illegal? Where's the advantage? Is there something magic about reaching that makes all contact a foul?
Let me get this right. Are you saying that if B1 has LGP, reaches for the ball, clubs A1 across the arm but doesn't get the ball out, you've got nothing because there was no advantage? I just want to understand what you're saying.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by mplagrow
Let me get this right. Are you saying that if B1 has LGP, reaches for the ball, clubs A1 across the arm but doesn't get the ball out, you've got nothing because there was no advantage? I just want to understand what you're saying.
Depends on what A1 does / is doing / keeps doing. Also depends on the meaning of the word "clubs."

I've called this a foul, and I've let it go. IN general, if A1 is just holding the ball, then I'll let the first contact go if it's relatively minor. If B1 does it again, or if it's significant contact (maybe what you meant by "clubs"), I'll get it.


Adam Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by mplagrow
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
What is it about the arm contact that is illegal? Where's the advantage? Is there something magic about reaching that makes all contact a foul?
Let me get this right. Are you saying that if B1 has LGP, reaches for the ball, clubs A1 across the arm but doesn't get the ball out, you've got nothing because there was no advantage? I just want to understand what you're saying.

"Clubs?" No, If he hits him that hard, he's probably moved his arm significantly. Or, as they say, this becomes one of the obvious you need to call. :)
I'm talking about a slight brush as B1 reaches across or from behind. SamIAm wants to call it if there's any contact whatsoever. I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

mplagrow Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:52am

OK. I can live with that.

rockyroad Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

Dan_ref Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

And I still can't understand why A1, with the ball, would hold onto B1 like that. Or how it would be impossible for B1 to shake loose...but I'll play along...

...is it possible that when B1 reached in under A1's arm he fouled A1?

rockyroad Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

And I still can't understand why A1, with the ball, would hold onto B1 like that. Or how it would be impossible for B1 to shake loose...but I'll play along...

...is it possible that when B1 reached in under A1's arm he fouled A1?

Nope...violates the very laws which hold our universe together. Couldn't possibly have happened...well, at least not according to the OP...

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

Me too.....

And I don't find out, heads will roll!

I always thought it was kind of a good idea to call the foul on the player doing the holding, not the player being held.

Btw, Rock, in about 2-3 rule books in a row, they had a POE on Post Play. From the 2003-04 book:
<b>POE 2 C Post Play:</b> <i>The offense can "shape up" to receive a pass or to force the defense to deply or assume a legal guarding position at the side, in front or <b>behind</b> the offensive post player. When the offensive post player then uses the "swim stroke", pushes, <b>pins</b>, elbows, forearms, <b>holds</b>, clears with the body or just generally demonstrates rough physical movement or tactics, this is a foul on the offensive player and must be called.</i>

And don't get me started about that offensive pass interference call that wiped out that touchdown either. Remember that one?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 24th, 2006 at 01:02 PM]

rockyroad Fri Feb 24, 2006 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

And don't get me started about that offensive pass interference call that wiped out that touchdown either. Remember that one?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 24th, 2006 at 01:02 PM]

Arrrrrgggghhhhh...where's the picture of the little kid, Dan? I need it!!

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 24, 2006 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

And don't get me started about that offensive pass interference call that wiped out that touchdown either. Remember that one?


Arrrrrgggghhhhh...where's the picture of the little kid, Dan? I need it!!

http://www.feebleminds-gifs.com/b4.gif
Is that the one, ol' buddy?

mplagrow Fri Feb 24, 2006 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

And don't get me started about that offensive pass interference call that wiped out that touchdown either. Remember that one?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 24th, 2006 at 01:02 PM]

Arrrrrgggghhhhh...where's the picture of the little kid, Dan? I need it!!

LOL. . .that was mine! Here you go:

http://www.2elevate.com/sweden/dinne...%20I%20get.jpg

http://www.2elevate.com/sweden/dinne...%20I%20get.jpg

M&M Guy Fri Feb 24, 2006 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

And don't get me started about that offensive pass interference call that wiped out that touchdown either. Remember that one?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 24th, 2006 at 01:02 PM]

Arrrrrgggghhhhh...where's the picture of the little kid, Dan? I need it!!

http://io2.steelers.com/MediaContent...mauf_62903.jpg

Or, is this the one?

Adam Fri Feb 24, 2006 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

And I still can't understand why A1, with the ball, would hold onto B1 like that. Or how it would be impossible for B1 to shake loose...but I'll play along...

...is it possible that when B1 reached in under A1's arm he fouled A1?

Ooh, good point. I might even have an intentional foul on A1 now. Thanks, Dan.

Dan_ref Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rockyroad
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

I want to know why contact on a reach is more of a foul than contact in any other situation.

And I want to know why contact by the offensive player holding the defenders arm is a foul on the friggin defender!!

And I still can't understand why A1, with the ball, would hold onto B1 like that. Or how it would be impossible for B1 to shake loose...but I'll play along...

...is it possible that when B1 reached in under A1's arm he fouled A1?

Ooh, good point. I might even have an intentional foul on A1 now. Thanks, Dan.

If that works for ya make sure you make it an intentional T.


Camron Rust Fri Feb 24, 2006 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
It is a foul in this sitch. almost every time. It is a huge advantage for the defense to reach/swing/swipe at the ball without penalty for contacting the arms.



You missed the whole point. B1 DID'T contact A1's arms...at all. A1 made the contact. Can't be a foul on B1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1