![]() |
Ball thrown length of the court by A1, hits the floor just outside the 3 point line, bounces into A's basket. Clock is not a factor here,3 points, or 2?
|
2.
|
This one could go in the FAQ, too. :)
|
Rule reference to show that its a 2 point basket please. And I missed this question if it has been addressed previously. Thanx for the responses.
|
Quote:
|
J.R.
In 5.1.1.A A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 comes down several feet in front of the basket. I didnt take that to mean that it bounced from outside the 3 point line. 5.2.1.B makes me think this is a 3 point basket by saying that in this play it is 3 regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal. Can you shed anymore light on this for me. Thanx again.
|
Re: J.R.
Quote:
The language in 5.1.1 is very explicit-- "The tap or the try for for field goal by A1 <b>ends</b> when the ball <b>touches the floor</b> but a field goal is sometimes not the result of a tap or try". Rule 5-2-1 is also very explicit--"A ball that <b>touches the floor</b>....counts <b>two</b> points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown". |
Re: J.R.
Quote:
by rule it can not be a 3 point basket stew in VA CVBOA |
Could yall explain it one more time? J/K ive got it now. Thank you guys.
|
I don't believe that this was clearly stated in the original post, but if this happened on a throw-in, it is a violation as per rule 9-2-7.
If the thrower was inbounds, then disregard my ramblings... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am. |