The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   when can you shoot the freethrows? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24967-when-can-you-shoot-freethrows.html)

lookin2improve Tue Feb 14, 2006 04:54pm

A1 fouls B1, it is A1's 5th foul. Coach 'looses it' (not that he ever had it...;) and receives a T. Does the Coach still have 30 sec for a replacement? Is there an instance where the freethrows can be administered before A1 is replaced??

deecee Tue Feb 14, 2006 04:58pm

go in order
 
first get a replacement -- then shoot free throws

always in order of what happened.

jeffpea Tue Feb 14, 2006 05:46pm

In this situation:

NFHS - order in which they occured (replacement first, then common foul FT's, then T FT's)

NCAA - Point of interruption (I would get replacement first) T FT's, then back to POI - common foul FT's

Nevadaref Tue Feb 14, 2006 07:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lookin2improve
A1 fouls B1, it is A1's 5th foul. Coach 'looses it' (not that he ever had it...;) and receives a T. Does the Coach still have 30 sec for a replacement?

Yes, still give the coach his 30 sec replacement period.

Quote:

Originally posted by lookin2improve

Is there an instance where the freethrows can be administered before A1 is replaced??

Only if the officials screw up. You never continue further action in a game when you are aware that a player has committed a disqualifying foul. Get a replacement immediately then continue.

If you do mess this up and allow FTs prior to the replacement. The FTs still count.


2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)

fan Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:53am

By JeffPea: In this situation:

NFHS - order in which they occured (replacement first, then common foul FT's, then T FT's)






Are the common foul FT's shot with the lane cleared since the T FT's are next?

Thanks

bob jenkins Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by fan
By JeffPea: In this situation:

NFHS - order in which they occured (replacement first, then common foul FT's, then T FT's)






Are the common foul FT's shot with the lane cleared since the T FT's are next?

Thanks

Yes. Any time the ball will definitely become dead after the last FT, the lane is cleared.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1