![]() |
When does the 5 sec count end? Boys Varsity.
I'm there to watch a good ball game, no official capacity. Near end of half, something like 8 secs on clock, team A has throw in after made free throw by team B, no pressure in back court. Team A to save the clock, rolls the ball inbounds. I've seen this a gagillion times as good clock mgt to get a last shot, I've never called 5 sec. as I stop counting once the ball is released. Young but up'n coming half of a two whistle crew calls 5 seconds. Am I missing a new interp of 7-6-1 or is this just the coming part of up'n coming? I question myself because no coach, fan or player makes a peep. Thanks, Stan |
It ends when the ball is released by the thrower. THere should be no 5 second call while the ball is rolling up the floor untouched by an inbound player, as long as it was released prior to the 5 seconds expiring.
|
The up-n comer will be down 'n out when he sees what he did.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The 5 second count in FIBA ends when the ball is touched by a player on the court - ie the same time as the clock starts. This is one area that I strongly feel FIBA makes more sense. As I understand it, in theory under NFHS rules a player could gently throw the ball in (stopping the 5 second count) but if no player touches the ball, the game clock doesn't start. Theoretically then, the game could go on for eternity if no player ever makes contact with the ball. Crazy!! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In practice, they aren't. |
..inbound count ends on release...is it the same for backcourt count??
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So, in theory AND in practice, the throw-in count and backcourt count are ended differently. So Bob, how come theoretically they're the same if they're different?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48pm. |