![]() |
Imagine 38 seconds left in the half at start of possession for team A. Just before the shot clock expires, A1 makes a very long try. Shot clock buzzer goes off just after ball leaves hand. During the long flight of the ball, the game clock continues to run. Ball contacts backboard, but not rim. Official blows whistle, as time in the half expires.
What result? 3 seconds put back on game clock? End of half. Something else? |
End of half. AR 39 on page 55 of last year's NCAA book. I don't have this year's book in front of me at the moment.
|
Chuck - as usual - is correct...the violation does not occur until the ball does not hit the rim - many people think the violation is for the shot clock buzzer going off, but as long as the shot has left the shooter's hands, we're good. Since this violation didn't occur until the ball clearly missed the rim, it's halftime.
|
clarification
Chuck,
Is the rule that the shot has to leave the hand or touch the rim before the shot clock expires?? |
Re: clarification
Quote:
|
thanks rr
thanks rockyroad, you must have just beat me in there...
|
Re: Re: clarification
Quote:
BTW, this year's citation is AR 40 on page 54 of the NCAA book. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am. |