The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of the Endline? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24838-end-endline.html)

Rick Durkee Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:21am

After a goal by team A, B1 is running the endline during the throw-in as in 7-5-7. How far can B1 go? I assume that B1 can't go beyond the end of the endline (past the sideline). Is that true? If that is true, I assume the result is a violation. Is that true? If it is an illegal play, what causes the infraction, breaking the plane of the "sideline extended" or must B1 step (or otherwise contact something they aren't suppose to) beyond that plane?

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:41am

Rule 7-5-7 says that a non-designated spot throw-in must be made from "any point outside the end line". Rule 1-2 says that the end line is as shown on the court diagam at the front of the rule book. That diagram shows that the end lines terminate at the sidelines.

Ergo, it's a violation if the thrower goes past the point where the end line and sideline meet and then makes the throw-in from there. The thrower would no longer be outside the endline.

However, I don't know if there is a violation if the thrower goes past a sideline, but then returns behind the end line before making the throw-in. That play isn't covered afaik.

Texas Aggie Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:48am

I don't have my book handy, but basically, it is going to boil down to did they gain an advantage? If there's no one guarding the thrower or the inbounds player and the thrower went to retrieve the ball that had gone beyond the sideline and carelessly tosses it in, I'm not going to call that. If they run over there and do it to break a press, I'm going to call it. Besides, "outside the end line" is a little vague. Am I "outside" the endline being at my house, several miles away? Obviously, that's a bit absurd and the intent is as JR said.

Either way, I don't think breaking the sideline in and of itself while not throwing the ball in is a violation.

M&M Guy Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Rule 7-5-7 says that a non-designated spot throw-in must be made from "any point outside the end line". Rule 1-2 says that the end line is as shown on the court diagam at the front of the rule book. That diagram shows that the end lines terminate at the sidelines.

Ergo, it's a violation if the thrower goes past the point where the end line and sideline meet and then makes the throw-in from there. The thrower would no longer be outside the endline.

However, I don't know if there is a violation if the thrower goes past a sideline, but then returns behind the end line before making the throw-in. That play isn't covered afaik.

How about, during this endline throw-in, a player runs OOB along the sideline to avoid a screen, then ends up along the baseline during the throw-in? Or starts off along the endline OOB, turns the corner OOB along the sideline, then comes in? What if they come in (or go out) right at the corner?

:D


Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 08, 2006 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
[/B]
How about, during this endline throw-in, a player runs OOB along the sideline to avoid a screen, then ends up along the baseline during the throw-in? Or starts off along the endline OOB, turns the corner OOB along the sideline, then comes in? What if they come in (or go out) right at the corner?

[/B][/QUOTE]Shut up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1