![]() |
Scorekeeper here - Alternating Poss. Arrow Question
Hey guys,
I keep the scorebook/scoreboard sometimes for my daughter's teams. I had a question for you guys: RE: The alternating possession arrow. I had been told to not switch the arrow until the ball has been inbounded years ago (back in High School - when I also occasionally had scorekeeper duties). I was told that the reason for this is that are some types of infractions on the inbounds where the arrow won't move. The only problem is that I don't remember any more than that about the specifics. So I was wondering two things: A) Is this true or not? and B) If it is true, a list of types of situations both where the arrow will change and where it won't. Any help would be appreciated, just figuring if I'm going to keep score, I might as well try to do the best job I can. Thanks |
Swithc the arrow when the passed ball is touched by a player or when the inbounding team violates.
Do not switch the arrow when either team commits a foul before the pass is touched. |
I think this has changed, but I'm not sure when. It used to be (early '90s and before, if I recall right) when the ball was at the disposal of the thrower. BJ is correct on the current rule. Also, keep in mind that if the team throwing the ball in violates (such as a designated spot violation, or by throwing the ball out of bounds), the arrow is switched as well.
|
And, from a thread last week, if the defense commits a boundary plane warning violation on an AP throw in, then the arrow will not change on the subsequent throw in.
|
Different but related question
Situation this past weekend.
Jump ball is called. After the play, A1 is called for a technical foul for a reaction to the physical play that lead to the jump ball. Arrow was pointing Team B's direction (but I don't think it matters). The "T" is going to cancel out the jump ball regardless of which way the arrow was pointing, correct? It should be Team B shooting 2 free throws, and ball OOB to Team B. Arrow stays with Team B after the ball is live again, right? |
Yup, that's right griz. The penalty for the T includes possession, so we don't have to go to the arrow at all.
|
Quote:
|
Good point, Dan. I assumed FED rules, but I should've asked which set we were talking about. The NCAA rule is different.
If A1's "reaction" was verbal, then according to NCAA rules, we'd assess the T, then go to the POI, which was the held ball. So the ball is put in play by the arrow. If A1's "reaction" was to push the guy that tied him up, this would be an intentional technical and the administration would be the same as the FED rule. |
I'm pretty sure the reaction was either verbal or extreme body language. But these were HS rules, so I guess it didn't matter. The play happened in one of the far side corners from the table so I really couldn't tell you for sure. It "might" have been a push after the play.
Good to know that it makes a difference because this was AAU ball and for National tourney's they will use NCAA-W rules. So NCAA rules is Point of Interuption on a technical foul? That is a fairly recent change, right? |
Quote:
btw...for some reason the NCAA can't figure out how they want T's handled, so almost ANY current rule related to T's is fairly new. :rolleyes: |
Not intending to hijack the thread, but why do womens and mens NCAA rules differ? Wouldn't it be much easier to just have one set of rules for NCAA?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am. |