![]() |
The first discussion that myself and two other officials had this evening, involved the previous post on the correctable error.
The second involved a player that was shooting a layup. The ball on the way up hits the backboard. While it is still on the way up and after hitting the backboard, a defensive player contacts the ball. I explained that it was in my opinion a blocked shot. Another official agreed. My reasoning was that it did not fit the description of goaltending as it was still on the way up. The other official reasoned that the ball hit the backboard and the defensive player commited goaltending because he interfered with the shot. I told him that I'd post the question on our forum. Your comments please. |
definitely not goaltending...on the way up, and not on the rim or in the cylinder...good call
|
In the NBA it is goaltending, by rule, if you touch a layup after it hits the glass. But as Skarecrow said, by NFHS rules, it's fair game.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36am. |