The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Player control is established by holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. If a player is airborne, he is considered to be in the same location from which he jumped. So a player who jumps from the court is inbounds until some part of him touches out of bounds. It's that simple. He is considered inbounds while he's in the air. Inbounds plus player control means we can grant the TO. [/B]
Sorry Chuck, this one I am not buying. It may be in the rules, but it is another example of a poor decision on the part of the rules committee.

99% of the time, the player calling the TO is just gaining posession while he is flying out of bounds..which blows a whole in your theory. When he left the court (he DID NOT) have control or the ball (ie posission) So when he is in the air, he is considered to be in the same position he was in before he jumped (ie not yet in control of the ball)

If a guy has clear cut posession of the ball, he should be able to call a TO with two feet on the court. If he has to jump out of the way and off the court to get a grip on the ball...I dont how you see that as posession.


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1